Smokin’ Good Beans

It’s that time of the year again; summer and summer means picnics and cookouts.  Everyone in our neighborhood will be heading out in the coming months for summer travel so I thought it would be fun to have a cookout before everyone headed for the open road.

 I love hosting cookouts because generally I provide the main dish, beer, wine and soda.  Everyone else brings along an appetizer, side dish or dessert to share.  What is really great is that all my neighbors are really good cooks so I always know that no matter what they brought it would be tasty.  For this cookout I decided to have burgers and hot dogs.  And, what goes really well with burgers and hotdogs, baked beans. 

 As I am cooking my way through Tyler’s Ultimate I looked there first and there just happened to be a baked bean recipe in the book.  The ingredient that most intrigued me was the chipoltle chiles in adobo sauce.  It intrigued me because I love spicy, hot foods.

 Most of the ingredients: molasses, ketchup, Dijon mustard, kosher salt, bacon and fresh rosemary are foods I generally have on hand.  All I needed was the cannellini beans and chipoltle chiles in adobo sauce and I knew these would be readily available at my local grocery store. 

 The recipe was incredibly easy to assemble.  And, I’m not sure why but I found myself amused at the use of the words “dump” and “throw” in the directions. 

 When baked the sauce looked wonderfully thick and rich, the bacon brown and crispy and the rosemary smelled incredibly fragrant.  As our guests arrived they said things like,  “Boy something sure does smell good” and even if I do say so myself it really did.

 The beans were sweet with just enough heat that even my husband, who does not like his food as spicy as I do, really enjoyed them as well. 

 As you can see from the picture to the right there was not much left at the end of the evening just enough to have a helping for lunch the next day.  And, I have to tell you that I think they tasted even better the next day. 

 I will be looking forward to making this baked bean recipe again over the coming summer months and sharing the recipe with my neighbors and family.

At the end of the evening the group shared how they felt about the beans by declaring, “Damn those were some smokin’ beans!  That was a smokin’ hot pot!”  Then a round of hoots and cheers.

Bill, Sally, Genny, Lorraine, John, Joanne, Sandy and Bob declaring how they felt about those smokin' beans.

Nutritional information for based on six servings:

Calories 94.89 Total fat 0.28, Cholesterol 0 and Fiber less than 1%.  We served 12.

Mary

This entry was posted in Event, Food, Recipe, Tyler Florence, Uncategorized, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Smokin’ Good Beans

  1. Randy says:

    It was some smokin’ hot beans!!!!! Nice blog…

  2. Jennifer says:

    I will definately have to try this Tyler recipe. Glad it was such a hit.

    • This would be a really easy and tasty recipe for whatevery cooking plans are for the Fourth of July. What I liked especially about this recipe is that it didn’t have onions in it. I can’t abide seeing an onion in my food I always have to ‘pick’ them out. Very annoying. Although I do love to cook with onion but by the time I get done dicing and cooking them you don’t even know they are they except for the great flavor of the onions. Thanks for stopping by, keep reading.
      Mary

Leave a Reply

