Spongebob Squarepants

I have never seen this show. However, having nieces and a nephew and friends with kids I am aware of this cartoon phenomenon.  I don’t get it. But then again, I grew up watching the Smurfs.

So when my friend Laura enlisted my sister and I (The Delicious Divas) as the caterers for her son’s bday party,  I heard “Jack would like a Spongebob Squarepants” cake” the first thing I thought was theme party!

Planning and caterering an 8 year olds birthday party is pretty simple, as there’s not much cooking one needs to do to satisfy the masses. Burgers. Hot dogs. Chips and dip. Cake. Done. The fun part was to come up with names for the abovementioned food. This is where my sister Jennifer stepped-up to the plate and came up with creative names that incorporated phrases and characters from the show. The menu:

Krabby Patties and Squidward Dogs

Chicken of the Sea sandwiches, Shrimp cocktail

Seaweed Pasta

 

 

 

 

 

 

Coral Chips & Dip, Fish Food
the Cake!

 
 

 

 

 

We attempted to core the pineapple (Spongebob lives in one under the sea) and put the fruit salad in it. Honestly, it sounded like way too much work. So, we cut off the bottom and semi-cored the pineapple to lay on the plate flat. Then we just added the fruit around it and made it the centerpiece. I don’t even think the kids ate it, I mean I’m a realist. They wanted Goldfish and cake. Not fruit. But the adults seemed to enjoy it.

Centerpiece

 

— Kristine

This entry was posted in Celebrations, Dessert, Event, fruit, kids party and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spongebob Squarepants

  1. I remember the Smurfs. I loved the names for all the food. With a 12 year old and a six year old Jennifer was the perfect person to come up with the creative names for the food. And, what a great cake! Obviously, the first catering venture for The Delicious Divas was a great success. You go girls!!!!

  2. Jennifer says:

    I loved our first catering job. It was enjoyed by all and Jack loved the cake. Although the cake pan is discontinued and I now know why, too intricate and had to change the icing too many times but will make another one if need be. Planning it was a lot of food and can’t wait until we have another job.

Leave a Reply

