This woman COOKS in the kitchen!

I have a love affair with Nigella Lawson. She’s great to watch on TV and her cookbooks (I own all of them!) are beyond fabulous. Everything about her and the food she makes is just deliciously decadent.

As a follow-up to my Lebanese food post, I wanted to share a recipe that I swear is hands down the easiest and moistest chicken you’ll ever eat. It’s great for those summer nights when you want a good, light meal, but not one that is labor intensive. Chicken with Spring Onion, Chilli and Greek Yoghurt (this isn’t a typo, remember she’s British) as listed in her book How to Eat is great with a little hummus, tabouli and some Greek yogurt sauce. Now, I’ve never made her Greek yogurt sauce from her book, and I’m sure it’s good. It’s just that I am not a fan of green chilis unless they are a part of a bowl of chili. So, I found a yogurt dipping sauce on the Martha Stewart site that is my go-to with this chicken. The only modification I made to this recipe is that I use low-fat or fat free Greek yogurt such as Chobani. I like the thicker consistency, as I have found that regular yogurt is a bit watery and I don’t think it holds the flavors as nicely. 

Now as for the chicken, her recipe calls for 6 skinless chicken breasts. I’m a single gal, and am not feeding an army so some genius at Perdue came up with single serve chicken! What a brilliant idea. I can take one out of the freezer, thaw, marinate, cook and eat. Since I only make one chicken breast at a time, I guesstimate on how much olive oil and lemon juice to pour into a Ziploc bag.

If you’re having dinner guests and then perhaps want to save some for leftovers, it’s the juice of two lemons and 3 Tbsps of olive oil in a Ziploc bag, then season with salt & pepper. Remove the chicken from the marinade after about 4 hours, discard the marinade. Then add 2 Tbsps of olive oil to a large frying pan and when it’s hot, fry the chicken. Depending on the type of range you have, it’s about 5 minutes on each side. I, on the other hand, am deathly afraid of dying from uncooked chicken so at times I accidentally cook it too long. If you are like me and overcook chicken, the yogurt sauce will add moisture to the dish.

I like wine with this dish (okay, with any meal) and feel that a good Sauvignon Blanc like Oyster Bay Marlborough or a Pinot Grigio such as Santa Margherita Valdadige. Both are good wines and excellent value. If memory serves, they run about $15 each. I think they even sell them at Costco, so go ahead and pick-up two bottles. These wines are keepers and good to have around the house when you have unexpected guests, need something to bring to a party or just unwind with a glass after work.

Kristine

This entry was posted in chicken, Food, Lebanese food, Nigella Lawson, Recipe, wine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This woman COOKS in the kitchen!

  1. Steve says:

    Yay, Oyster Bay! I love a good NZ Sauvignon Blanc.

    It’s funny you mention overcooking — I do the same thing. Mom scared the wits out of me regarding shellfish, so if I eat it at all I tend toward overcooking. Same with pork, though I’m told these days that chefs are cooking pork rarer because the dangers of undercooking are much less with modern pig-raising techniques. (Whatever. I cook the heck out of it.)

Leave a Reply

