I want my baby back, baby back…

RIBS! On my way to the beach with Laura (one of my best friends from high school), I heard about the ribs that we would be eating on July 4th. For two days, all I heard about was how amazing they were. The phrases used to describe the ribs included “the meat just falls off the bone”, “it’s that perfect combination of sweet and spicy” and “they are so amazing, you’ll have to blog about them.” So here I am, blogging about them and they are by far the most amazing ribs I have ever had.

 Now, I am not a ribs person. I’m not the type that likes messy food. My friends used to make fun of me when I would eat wings with a fork and knife. Yes, I know, ridiculous. But ribs, like wings are messy. The sauce gets under your nails; it’s on your face. By far, it’s not the most attractive food to eat. But I have grown over the years and have set aside cleanliness and now just enjoy the food and the way it is intended to be eaten – with your hands.

So back to the ribs. On July 4th, my friends’ brother-in-law Doug started to make the glaze. While he was making the glaze, he brought up a few points:  1) the recipe makes a TON of sauce, so he typically halves (or on this occasion made a ¼ of the sauce for the two slabs of ribs) the recipe; 2) You have to watch the glaze as it boils as it has a tendency to over boil.

When discussing the amount of glaze the recipe makes, we came to the conclusion that you could freeze it and use it as a barbecue sauce for pork chops or chicken before grilling. It should be noted that as this is a drizzle, you need to keep it warm as the sugar makes it harden rather quickly. If it starts to get this way, warm water should do the trick.

It should be noted that this is an Emeril recipe (see below). Now, while I like watching his show as he’s a great TV personality that explains recipes/the process as well as providing useful tips, I’ve never made a recipe. I seem to catch the shows where “lard”, “full-fat buttermilk” and “pounds of butter” are mentioned and that doesn’t go well with my Weight Watcher’s diet. However, I’m sure I can make this diet friendly (i.e. low-sodium soy sauce).

Unfortunately, I don’t have a patio so no grill. But, I plan to make these again over at my sister’s house sometime this summer. We had potato salad as a side dish, but I think I would make coleslaw instead. There’s something about it that just goes well with BBQ. Just recently, the Washington Post’s Food section dedicated their front page to coleslaw (“A slew of slaws”), which you can find the recipes here: http://projects.washingtonpost.com/recipes/searchaction/?keywords=slaw&course=&cuisine=&holidays=&month=7&year=2010&x=173&y=9&sid=ST2010070602418

Baby Back Ribs with Orange Chipotle Glaze

4 or 6 slabs baby back ribs

Chinese 5 spice powder (McCormick 5 spice will work just as well)

Kosher salt and coarse black pepper

Directions: Pre-heat grill to medium high heat. Cut ribs beforehand (3-4 ribs per section) and season both sides of ribs with spices and cook on grill for 5 minutes – each side. Remove and allow to cool. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Wrap ribs in plastic wrap, then foil, place on baking sheet and cook for 1 ½ hours. Remove and allow to cool while they are still wrapped.

Orange Chipotle Glaze

1 cup orange juice

2 cups cider vinegar

1 7oz can chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, pureed in a blender

1 cup soy sauce

8 cups sugar

Directions: In a large non-reactive stockpot, reduce orange juice to ¼ cup and add remaining ingredients and cook over medium-high heat until sugar has melted and the sauce has reduced to 4 cups and coats the back of a spoon. This will take about 20-30 minutes. Note: this is more of a drizzle or dip if you will versus a glaze you put directly on the ribs.

 

–Kristine

This entry was posted in Celebrations, Emeril, Food, pork, Recipe, Ribs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

