Friends, Motorcycles, Things To See, Food To Eat Part II Nova Scotia (Thursday)

Peggy's Cove Lighthouse

The highlight of our day was discovering Peggy’s Cove but we will talk about that a little later.  In the meantime the morning was very foggy and drizzly and the weatherman was calling for rain but we were not to be deterred.  We ate a leisurely breakfast then left the hotel around ten-thirty heading towards Halifax two hundred and thirty four miles away.

The weather changed to cloudy and windy and then eventually become quite lovely with a little sunshine.  Weather is a big deal for bikers especially if its cold so we were hoping that we could make it to our hotel before the skies opened up. 

The first part of our ride was on the major highway but eventually we got off on to smaller roads heading to Lunenburg.  To get to Lunenburg we traveled along a beautiful coastal road passing little fishing villages, boat building establishments and other quaint towns along the way. 

I especially love looking at water as we wiz by on the bike I find it very calming.  This bears out if you ever come to my home I have many paintings of the sea, lakes, and stormy oceans.  I can just look up at any one of them and feel a sense of peace and tranquility pass over my entire body. 

After I bought my first water color by artist Marge Alderson, artist who had a studio in the Torpedo Factory in Old Town Alexandria, I hung on my living room and then immediately took the wall out of my family room and put glass French doors in so I could sit in my favorite chair and see the painting.  That original painting now hangs in the living room of our Florida home.  I love it!

The Fishcake Cafe, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

We arrived in Lunenburg just in time for lunch.  We did not have a consensus about where to eat so started walking down the street to see what looked appetizing.  Char wanted to get off what she considered a touristy street and go up one street and look there.  So, off we went. After reading the menu posted on the door we chose to eat at the Fishcake Café.  What a find!  It is a small, quaint eatery with seating inside and additional seating on an outside deck.  We sat outside.  The menu is not very large but I was encouraged by that as too many times restaurants offer so many choices the really good ones get lost. 

My eyes immediate went to the Thai Roasted Chicken of free-range chicken breast with peanut sauce and Monterey Jack cheese.  The sandwich was wonderfully light and very tasty.  It came with a side of Asian slaw made with Napa cabbage, yellow sweet peppers, red pepper, a little mayonnaise, etc.  (I could not get them to tell me all the ingredients) but trust me when I tell you it was incredibly light and delicious.  The rest of the group was just as pleased as I with their choices.

Enjoying lunch on the deck overlooking the harbor at Lunenburg.

 After lunch we were back on the road to travel to our next stop, Peggy’s Cove.  When we started up the hill to the restaurant/gift shop for the cove we were treated to a wondrous site that took our breaths away.  Peggy’s Cove Lighthouse standing majestically on the rocks jutting into the sea just invited all who saw her to climb the rocks to get a closer look at not only the lighthouse but watching the waves crashing all around.  I could have spent hours just walking on the rocks and taking pictures of everything within eyesight. 

Down on the rocks at Peggy's Cove

We were not a ble to go into the lighthouse.  Evidently several years ago during a large storm huge waves high enough to enter the second story window flooded the lighthouse.  It is now full of mold making it impossible for visitors to go inside. 

Randy has always been somewhat of a daredevil and takes a lot of chances.  He loves to explore so when presented with exploring these wonderful rocks and boulders around the light house off he went.   Of all the group he went the furthest down very close to the water.  I reminded him of the sign that was posted on the lighthouse and to take it easy.

Warning sign at the lighthouse. Randy take heed!!

Shoreline from lighthouse, Look at that boulder. Amazing!!!

Unfortunately, it was getting late so we had to leave after spending a few minutes in the gift shop.  We were all tired and needed to get to our hotel.  We arrived in Halifax around seven-thirty that evening wanting only to park the bikes get our luggage up to our rooms and find some dinner before collapsing into bed.

Char had seen a Greek restaurant called Athens on our way to the hotel and suggested we go there.  None of us wanted to get back on the bikes so we walked the several blocks.  It was really much too late for me to eat a large meal so I settled for a club sandwich but everyone else had traditional Green offerings.  Everyone loved his or her choices and a few of us ordered rice pudding for dessert.  I really enjoyed that as it tasted so much like my mom’s.  The pudding was rich and creamy and the rice was just right not too soft or hard but just right.  YUM!!

Tomorrow we are off to Baddeck.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in chicken, Food, sandwiches, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friends, Motorcycles, Things To See, Food To Eat Part II Nova Scotia (Thursday)

  1. Andréa Bureaux says:

    Hi Mary,
    I met you in Portland Maine and we talked about the Acadian Poutine.
    Check out this websit with many traditional New Brunswick recipes.

    http://new-brunswick.net/new-brunswick/recipes.html

    The Poutine Rapée is the one I was talking about.

    • Thank you so very much for the website!! I will check it out once I am back home and settled a little. I am looking forward to making some of the Acadian recipes. I enjoyed meeting you all and hoped that you would continue your journey north safely. We are almost home. Keep reading. I will cook some of the recipes and blog about them. I will alert you when I do. Again, thank you so much. Mary

Leave a Reply

