Easy, Breezy Chicken Scallopini

It is yet another ninety-degree day here in Florida and I really do not want to be in the kitchen for too long but would really like to have a nice dinner.  So over to my stack of cookbooks, magazines about cooking and my ever growing stack of recipes that I have clipped out of cooking magazines.  You know the stack that keeps getting larger and larger and you promise that you will get to them ‘one of these days’.   Today is one of those days!

Well I came across a recipe in the pile that I believed would be perfect for just this kind of a hot day.  It is a recipe I pulled out of Cooking Light a few years ago called Chicken Scallopini.

The recipe sounded light, flavorful and very easy to make.  A bottle of capers was the only ingredient I needed to purchase.  Can you believe it; I have never cooked with capers before.   For all of you out there whom either does not know what a caper is or have never eaten one they are according to www.thefreedictionary.com “the flower buds of the caper plant, which are pickled and used as a condiment”.

In my early years in the kitchen I really was not one to purchase what I considered gadgets.  Instead I would use whatever was handy and already available.  So no mallet or rolling pin for me but a hammer was my tool of choice when needed to pound meat to thinness.  (And, yes the hammer was cleaned before using).  Of course, that was then and this is now so yes, I now am the proud owner of a meat mallet.

Armed with all the ingredients and gadgets I would need I start my preparation.

First I pounded the chicken between two pieces of plastic to ¼ inch thickness using my meat mallet. 

Secondly, I brushed the chicken with lemon juice and then sprinkled with salt and pepper.  Next I dredged the chicken in the Italian-seasoned breadcrumbs. 

Now it was time to cook the chicken.  I heated a large nonstick skilled coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat and added the chicken to the pan.  The chicken needed to be cooked for three minutes on each side and then removed but kept warm.

I had already measured out the chicken broth and white wine and added it to the pan and cooked it for approximately 30 seconds. 

Lastly, I removed the pan from the heat and added the capers and butter just until the butter melted.  The sauce had a wonderfully fragrant aroma.

I plated the chicken with Jasmine rice and a salad of baby butter greens, tomatoes and cucumbers with a very light olive oil dressing.  I really enjoyed the ‘bite’ the capers lent to the overall taste of the meal. 

The chicken was exactly as I thought it would be light, flavorful and so very easy to make.  The recipe has now moved from the stack to the inside of one of my many recipe binders, binders that I go back to time and again because all the recipes within their covers are wonderful.

Nutrional Inforamtion: CALORIES 206(20% from fat); FAT 4.6g (sat 2.2g, mono 1.3g, poly 0.5g); PROTEIN 29.2g; CARB 7.7g; FIBER 0.6g; CHOL 76mg; IRON 1.6mg; SODIUM 657mg; CALC 27mg.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in chicken, Cooking Light, Food, Italian Food, nutrition, Recipe, wine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Easy, Breezy Chicken Scallopini

  1. Edward Kodatt says:

    Thanks Mary, I’ll save all these recipes.
    Edward

  2. What’s up everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at this web site, and
    post is actually fruitful in support of me, keep
    up posting such articles or reviews.

Leave a Reply

