Grandma’s Peanut Butter Cookies

Cookies and Milk, YUM!!

I really believe in the old proverb, “The way to a man’s (someone’s) heart is through his (their) stomach”.  As you can see I tweaked the proverb a little to cover all those in my family.  As a young wife and mother I was always looking for recipes that would make my family happy.

At one point in the seventies I turned to my mother-in-law for help with adding recipes to my collection, recipes that would please my then new husband.   I had been asking him if there were any recipes that his mom made that he would like for me to cook or bake for him.  “Yes”, he said, “see if my mom will share her recipe for the peanut butter cookies that she made when I was a child”.

I called Mother Gager and asked if she would share her recipe for peanut butter cookies.  She was delighted that I asked and even more delighted that her son had thought that they were so special that he wanted me to learn how to make them too.

At the time I thought it was very funny that my husband would ask for a cookie recipe, as Mother Gager would always say that she did not like making cookies because they were, “too fussy”.  She preferred baking pies but that is for another day and another blog. 

These cookies are very simple and all the ingredients readily available at the local grocery store.  The one ingredient that may need to be purchased would be the shortening.  Mother used Crisco and so do I. 

Grandma’s Peanut Butter Cookies

*Put these ingredients together first:

½ cup shortening

½ cup peanut butter

½ cup brown sugar

½ cup sugar

1 egg (well beaten)

*Mix into the above ingredients:

1 ¼ cup flour

¾ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon baking powder

¼ teaspoon salt

.

 

Then roll into balls.  Flatten with a fork (criss-cross).  Bake at 375° for 10-12 minutes. *During the holidays I place a Hershey’s Kiss in the center of the cookie before baking.

 

 

 

 Over the years this cookie became a staple in our home especially as an after school snack for my girls.   Is there anything better than having freshly baked cookies and cold milk for a snack?

The recipe makes a little over two dozen.   Three hungry girls made short work of my labor of love but it was worth it to see their faces as they entered the house saying, “Mom, you made cookies today, great” and would then run into the kitchen.  Consequently, over time I doubled the recipe so I would enough left over for my husband when he came home from work.

 
 

Now don't these look yummy?

 Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in cookies, Dessert, Desserts, Food, peanut butter, Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Grandma’s Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. John digeronimo says:

    The pic looks so good. I could eat it, they are my favorite.

  2. rose gold says:

    Cookies are the most favorites of my kids. But I really don’t know how to bake so I just buy some in the market. I will try to bake it sometimes. Thanks for the simple recipe. I want to see more recipes on you.

    • Children really do love cookies. One of our favorite activities during the holidays is baking cookies together. In a night we will put together 8 to 10 recipes. And they are all good. Do try this one it really is easy and they really are good. My husband can attest to that. They don’t last too long in the cookie jar. Thanks for stopping by and leaving some words. Mary

  3. Pingback: 2010 in review | The Delicious Divas

  4. Diane says:

    Do you need to add baking soda and powder if you use ap flour?

  5. Pingback: A Banana Bread, Peanut Butter Cookie, Baked Bean Day | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

