2nd Annual Track Suits & Turkey Day

Menu planned. Invitations sent. Only two more weeks to get ready for the 2nd Annual Track Suits and Turkey Day. Last year, I embarked on my first Thanksgiving feast and if you read the post “Turkey Trauma”, you’ll see it was a bit nerve racking but I got through it and it turned out great. The term track suits came about because I like a casual atmosphere and, let’s face it, the amount of food one consumes on Thanksgiving an elastic waistband is a blessing.

Hosting Thanksgiving Day dinner at my house is now my holiday to have my family over for dinner, and of course, watch football. As for the latter, I’m not thrilled with the line-up the NFL has served up this year – Patriots vs. Lions followed by Saints vs. Cowboys. However watching football while eating dinner is a tradition in my family and while my Cowboys are absolutely awful this year, I will be wearing my Cowboys hoodie when the game kicks-off at 4.

For the last couple of weeks, I’ve been pouring through my recipes and the new issues of Martha Stewart Living, Cooking Light and Real Simple for additional ideas on sides and appetizers for this years meal. The following is the menu I have planned. Following Thanksgiving, I will be posting on the outcome of the dinner complete with pics.

Appetizers
Carmalized onion dip
Date, walnut and blue cheese ball with toasted crostinis
 
Main Course
Maple-roasted turkey with sage and smoked bacon
 
Sides
Sweet potato crumble
Carrots
Stuffing
Mashed potatoes
Green beans with bacon
Rolls 
 
Dessert
Pumpkin pie pudding
 
Beverages
2009 River Road Sonoma County Pinot Nior
2006 HK-1 Reserve Pinot Noir
2008 Louis Jadot Pouilly Fuisse White Burgundy
Resplandy Muscat de Saint Jean de Minervois
Beer, beer and more beer

— Kristine

This entry was posted in Appetizers, bleu cheese, Celebrations, Cooking Light, Dessert, Event, potatoes, Thanksgiving, turkey, Tyler Florence, Vegetables, wine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

