Little puddings with mighty flavor

Picture from Gourmet magazine November 2009

I love entertaining!  I especially love  entertaining friends that come for a visit that live so very far away and we do not get to see them very often.

Recently our friend Vilma came a calling.  She brought her friend Micki along.  They were in Florida conducting various classes in Miami and Tampa.  While in Florida they decided to rent a car and stop and see several friends on their way from point A (Miami) to point B (Tampa). 

Knowing how hard it is to be on the road for a very long time, sleeping in hotels and eating meals in countless restaurants I decided to make a home cooked meal and spend what little time we had just enjoying each other’s company.

I decided to make a simple meal of, salmon, pasta, salad, crusty bread and pudding for dessert.

I talked about the salmon in my blog “I don’t like fish, I need fish in my diet, so…” and the pasta in my blog “The In-laws Are Coming, The in-laws Are Coming”

Both recipes are simple to prepare and just wonderful and I always get rave reviews from guests. 

Now I needed to decide on what dessert to serve.  It was going to be a warm evening so I wanted to make something I could make ahead and would be cool.

I came across a pudding recipe that appealed to me in the November 2009 issue of Gourmet magazine.  The recipe is a very soft setting pudding with a coffee flavor topped with dollops of whipped cream and cinnamon

The recipe is very simple to make only takes about 15 minutes to prepare, a short time for setting and only a few minutes to admire as it slowly slides down the back of your throat.  The combination of the soft pudding, smooth, sweet whipped cream and the spiciness of the cinnamon were just wonderful.

Everything served went over very well.  However, I think I would have done a few things different with the pudding.  First I think I would have used a little less instant coffee.  I found the coffee flavor a bit overwhelming.  I also discovered afterwards that Randy did not like the pudding because it tasted like coffee.  That baffled me and when I asked him about it he just said, “I like drinking coffee but I don’t like coffee flavored foods”. 

I also would have used smaller glasses or small dessert dishes for the presentation.  I had small juice glasses that would have been perfect but opted to use eight ounce glasses instead.  The glasses were just too big and even with the whipped cream added the glasses swallowed up the dessert.

Oh, well live and learn!

PS-I have been away for a while as I have embarked on a new and very fun project.  I am now writing a weekly column for our local newspaper, The Daily Sun.  The project has kept me busy and I am adjusting to a new routine.  So, I have been away from the kitchen for a bit.  But as I become more comfortable with my new duties I will get back into the cooking mode especially as the holidays are just around the corner.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Dessert, Desserts, Food, pasta, puddings, salmon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Little puddings with mighty flavor

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Little puddings with mighty flavor | The Delicious Divas -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

