‘Baby It’s Cold Outside’ Hardy Soup

A really hardy, smokey flavored bean soup with potatoes and ham!

Baby it’s cold outside is an understatement for this year.  Yet another snowstorm is heading for at least twenty-nine states this coming week and even down here in Florida we have had a much colder winter. 

So, when we received this beautiful spiral cut ham from our stockbroker for the holidays my first thought was, not a ham dinner, but a very large pot of soup.

I remember as a little girl my mom making great soups and stews for the cold winter nights and they were all yummy.  Of course she also made many soups and stews, as they were an economical way to feed a large family on a limited budget.

I have always made my soups so they are a complete meal and can stand alone at the table with just some crusty bread or rolls.  If I wanted to extend the meal I would add a side salad.

Weather reports aside the super bowl is also just around the corner and I know everyone is thinking about what to serve.  Chili and pizzas are favorites but I will be curled up on my sofa with a very large cup filled with the best bean soup there is; a fifteen-bean soup filled with chunks of potato and pieces of honey-baked ham.

Hardy Bean, Ham and Potato Soup:

1 large onion (diced)

2 cloves of garlic (diced)

10 cups of water

salt to taste

pepper to taste

ham bone

pkg. 15 bean mixture

1 medium can tomatoes

2 Tbsp chili powder

3 lbs. potatoes cut small

Ham cut into bite-size pieces

Bring water, onion, garlic, salt, pepper and ham bone to a boil.   Lower heat and cook for about 1 hour.  Add washed beans and bring back to boil.

Remove from stove; refrigerate covered pot to soak beans overnight. *

Add tomatoes and chili powder then simmer for 3 hours or until done.  Stir frequently to prevent sticking.

Add additional salt, pepper and chili powder to taste.

Add potatoes bring back to boil then reduce heat and cook for about 20 minutes or until potatoes are cooked. 

Add ham and you have a wonderful meal!

Some notes:

 (1) Soaking the beans overnight is the traditional way to make bean soup, however, you can instead put only the water and beans into the pot and bring to boil, reduce heat, cover and continue to boil for 60-70 minutes.  Then add the onions, garlic; salt, pepper and ham bone then follow the rest of the directions.

(2) Periodically you may need to add a little water to the soup especially after the beans have had time to soak over night and after adding the potatoes. 

Enjoy!

Mary

This entry was posted in baked ham, Food, ham, potatoes, Recipe, soup, tomatoes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to ‘Baby It’s Cold Outside’ Hardy Soup

  1. debby Aune says:

    I love bean soup. This recipe looks really good, especially on a cold night. Thanks

    • Hi, Debby–We had this soup last night and yes, it really is good. Just a note that when I add extra chili powder I usually add 1 extra tablespoon. I like it really robust. It is warm and very filling. We were sorry you were unable to swing by recently but know that the door is always open. Thanks for the words. Mary

  2. Paula McMahon says:

    What a great recipe for a group! I plan to try it soon–thanks for sharing. Paula

    • Hi, Paula–Yes, indeed. I intend to serve this month when Jim and Vilma come to visit. As soon as I know when they are coming I am hoping to get Don and Ann Lebowitz to come down too. There will be plenty to go around. Thanks for the words. Mary

  3. Keleigh Taylor says:

    This sounds wonderful. Do you think it could be made a creamy soup instead of a tomatoes? If so do you have a receipt?

    • Actually, I have always cooked any bean soup recipe with tomatoes. I believe it enhances the taste of the beans and makes for a rich soup base. I did some research for a bean soup on the interenet and the foodnetwork to see if anyone has posted a “creamy” bean soup and could not find anything appropriate. Every one that I read included tomatoes, tomato sauce or tomato catsup. I will do some further research. If I come up with one I will test it out and pass it on. Thanks for stopping by the sight and leaving some words. Mary

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention ‘Baby It’s Cold Outside’ Hardy Soup | The Delicious Divas -- Topsy.com

  5. Bari StCyr says:

    The recipe looks great – thanks for sharing. I try and take my lunch every day to work so this will work great. If you don’t have a ham bone, have you tried anything else in its place? Hope all is well with you. Take care and thanks again.

    Bari

    • Hi, Bari–It really is a good soup. I have only used ham bones however, you could use salt pork, ham hocks, smoked neckbones as a substitute. Hope you guys don’t get hammered again with this latest snowstorm. Keep warm. And, thanks again for the words. Mary

  6. Edward Kodatt says:

    Hi Mary,
    I was just looking for a Golf Site & came across you and your Daughters Delicious Daughters site. This is great and I’m intused. Keep up the good work.
    Edward

    • Good morning, Ed–Thank you for the kind words. Kristine and I have a good time looking for and writing about recipes from all corners. We use old family recipes, recipes from cookbooks and recipes sent in by readers. We have found over time that it also serves as a good way to keep in touch as we are in two different states she in Virginia and me in Florida. Keep reading and leave some words. Thanks, Mary

Leave a Reply

