Sloppy Joe’s. Ah, to be a kid again.

I wrote this a while back, but never published. It is so cold here in D.C. that I thought that posting a comfort food dish that is beyond easy to make would cure those winter chills. Enjoy.

I can’t even remember the last time I ate a sloppy joe, but when I saw Tyler Florence’s Ultimate Sloppy Joe’s episode, I knew I had to make them. There’s just something about this meal that says childhood. It’s messy. It’s got ketchup in it (which is a staple condiment for my nephew Derek. He eats ketchup sandwiches!). I can’t recall if mom made them from scratch. However, I do remember cans of Manwich Sloppy Joe mix in our pantry. Dinner in a can and ready in a jiffy.

Also, I do love cooking food that requires one pot.  I like simple recipes that I can make when I get home from work to have something to pack for lunch the next day.  It’s also been bloody cold here and we’re still digging out of back-to-back blizzards (35” of snow!), so any hot meal is a must.

Now while the recipe calls for ground turkey, I used venison. I love deer meat. What’s makes my love of venison funny is years ago for my nephew Derek’s 1st birthday party, Jennifer made pulled bbq sandwiches. Now, I thought it was pulled pork and couldn’t get enough of it! I kept saying “this is the best pulled pork barbecue EVER!” Meanwhile, all of Kevin’s family is looking at me in amazement that I didn’t know it was venison. Jennifer told them to be quiet, as she was unsure how I might react to eating deer, and I was already on my second sandwich and asking to take some home with me.

Fast forward to Derek’s 2nd birthday. 

I asked Jennifer if they were throwing a party for him and if pulled pork was on the menu. Well, she confessed that it was actually deer. I told her I didn’t care, it was good and I was expecting some when I got there. So since that day 6 years ago, Kevin and Jennifer have been supplying me with deer meat, and I’m forever grateful that Kevin (aka Ted Nugent) hunts. I’ve actually started saying prayers the night before he hunts, so I can stock my freezer when they are kind enough to give me some meat for future meals.

Besides, venison is a healthy, lean meat and better than beef.  Get on board mom. You don’t know what you are missing!

The sloppy joe recipe is beyond simple, and took no time at all to make that included dicing onions and measuring all the ingredients. Talk about delicious! I brought some to work for lunch and my boss came in and asked me what I was having because it smelled so good.

So I will definitely make these again, most likely in the fall/winter when you want some comfort food.

Kristine

This entry was posted in Food, Tyler Florence, venison. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sloppy Joe’s. Ah, to be a kid again.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Sloppy Joe’s. Ah, to be a kid again. | The Delicious Divas -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

