Dinner at Tarpon Bay

Recently, I visited mom and my stepdad Randy who live in Florida. While on my vacation, we stayed at their timeshare at the Coconut Plantation Resort in Bonita Springs. What an amazing place. Not only was the weather beyond gorgeous, but the company was fantastic. Each day we enjoyed each other’s company either on their deck or poolside. On our last night in town, I treated them both to dinner at Tarpon Bay for their wonderful hospitality during my stay. Now, I’m not the biggest fan of seafood but I figured I was in Florida so why not. From the moment we arrived at the restaurant I was very impressed. It had that Florida coolness about it, which set the mood for the food we were about to eat. I tend to eat a lot when I go out to a new restaurant, since a) I don’t very often and b) want to eat from every section of the menu.

Based on the recommendation from our waiter, I started out with the Tuna Ceviche. Next, I had the Butternut Squash Risotto and then for my entrée the Herbal Goat Cheese Crusted Snapper Fillet. Overall the food was delicious, although, I think I could’ve done without the risotto as it was very heavy and made eating my main dish a struggle to get through. The snapper was good, but it was too big of a portion. When it arrived at the table, I thought to myself, “how am I going to eat this entire thing?” Well, I didn’t. Not because it wasn’t good, just that there was too much of it to eat.

Now here’s the part where I should go into detail about the taste of the food, flavors, etc. However, I did a bum job of taking notes and therefore a bad reviewer. So as I began to pen this post, it dawned on me that I need to do a better job of jotting down a few lines about each dish, the ambiance, etc. if doing a review. I will admit that it’s been tough from a blogger standpoint to muster up enough creativity to post. Additionally, I was laid off from my job in March and therefore difficult to fund my passion for food – whether it be eating at a new restaurant or buying heaps of ingredients to try out a new recipe I come across. As a foodie who loves to cook, it’s been a struggle to share my thoughts and new recipes via the blog as I need to be careful about my budget. Thankfully, my mom has been taking on quite a bit of the posts as we try to keep the site updated with new things to share.

What am I going to do next? Well, for starters I am going to embrace the time off from a full time job and use it to find other things to blog about – food related of course – that hopefully folks will enjoy. It will also keep me writing, which as a PR professional is vital to keep my writing skills in top form.

As a call to action from our readers, if there’s anything food-related (i.e. the new nutrition guidelines) you want to see posted let us know. We’d love to hear from you!

Me, mom and Randy dining at Tarpon Bay

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tarpon Bay Menu - Biggest Menu EVER!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Butternut Squash Risotto

 

 

 

 

 

The main event - Herbal Goat Cheese Crusted Snapper Fillet

 

This entry was posted in pasta, restaurants, seafood, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dinner at Tarpon Bay

  1. Mary says:

    Yes, I agree it would be a good idea to carry a small notepad and pen to take notes about the food, its flavors, ambience of the restaurant, service and perhaps as a narrative the conversation at the table, ie, other comments about food.

    I understand and appreciate your dilemma being out of work and struggling to keep basic foods on the table but you have a good idea about writing about other food related blogs. Perhaps write about very basic foods and meals that financially strapped families could fall back on in hard times.

    I enjoyed your blog and look forward to others.

Leave a Reply

