Tyler’s Ultimate Scallop Saltimbocca and Velvet Potato Puree

Tyler Florence's Ultimate Scallop Saltimbocca and Velvet Potato Puree

I do not ordinarily eat seafood save tuna fish, salmon and very infrequently white fish. There is a restaurant in the Villages that makes a potato-crusted cod that is to die for. I would really like to find this recipe. I have tried and did not like scallops before but these were just great.

So, I decided to make Tyler Florence’s Ultimate Scallop Saltimbocca with Velvet Potato Puree.  I chose this recipe because I know that I need to eat more seafood and Randy loves scallops. I have to over the years made every effort to do so but it was not until recent years that it has become a matter of health that I have decided to make more of an effort to find recipes that will induce me to become a seafood lover. 

Every young married couple eats a great deal of tuna fish. Tuna casseroles or some sort of tuna surprise are being made in a multitude of households around the country every day. I made my share over the years. I did prepare some fish dishes as well as fried oysters for my family. I have to tell you though the idea of touching oysters was beyond repulsive to me so I never touched them. The entire process (washing, patting dry, coating, putting into and removing from the oil) all steps involved a very long handled fork and tongs.

While the family was growing I came to the conclusion that we ate fish so infrequently that I would prefer to go out for seafood especially as I really could not abide the smell that would linger in the house after cooking fish. Remember the Chesapeake Seafood House? We would go there at least once a month so everyone could get his or her fill of shrimp, crab legs and occasionally lobster. My three girls loved to go there because they all liked the idea that it was all you could eat. And, boy could the girls put away some food there. Also, they all loved looking at the beautiful tropical fish in the fish tanks and play with the game machines, like Pac man, etc.

Now as to this dish the ingredients were fairly ordinary and readily accessible. I could not believe how thin the woman at the deli was able to cut the prosciutto, incredible.

We had been having trouble with our refrigerator so it was no surprise that I discovered the fresh sage I had purchased had frozen in the crisper. It was dinnertime and I did not want to go out to get more sage so decided to use the rubbed sage I had in the pantry. Now I knew using the sage in this form would change the look of the meal and perhaps the taste but decided to proceed anyway. I think I will make this again using the fresh sage leaves to see if it indeed changes the taste especially the taste of the apples.

The scallops were easy to make and the strings were easy to remove once cooked. The scallops were very tender and the prosciutto gave a the scallops a really nice crunch to as well as a really nice taste. The caramelized apples were a really nice touch, however, I think I will cut the wedges a little larger next time.


Tyler recommended making the potato puree as a side dish to this recipe so I did. I normally use fat free milk and I Can’t Believe It’s Not butter but decided to stay true to the recipe. So, heavy cream and butter it was.  I was curious how different it would taste. Well, of course, the potatoes were richer, very buttery and smooth. But now it is back to the fat free milk and I Can’t Believe It’s Not butter much better for the waistline.

This is one of the first Tyler recipes I cooked and talked about on Facebook back in January 2010. I have made this recipe several times since then and still enjoy it very much.  I am really pleased that I have another seafood recipe to add to my collection. 

Have a fish recipe you would like to share?  Send it along and I will give it a whirl.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in carmelized apples, fish, Food, potatoes, Recipe, Tyler Florence, Tyler's Ultimate and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tyler’s Ultimate Scallop Saltimbocca and Velvet Potato Puree

  1. bloog says:

    Hello there, I found your site via Google while searching for a related topic, your site came up, it looks great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    • Thank you so much. My daughter Kristine and I have a good time with the blog. I love to cook, love to eat out and try new things and have learned love talking about same. I have in the past several years learned to embrace Facebook, starting a blog and writing a column for my local newspaper. What I am working on the hardest at the moment is taking good pictures. I have tried two cameras already and am working on my third. We shall see. I want whatever food I am preparing to look as appetizing and wonderful as it tastes. We shall see. Again, thanks for leaving some words. Enjoy, Mary

  2. OMG! It is like you understand my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, besides that, this is good blog post. A great read. I’ll certainly be back. Wishing you Happy New Year!

    • Thanks for the kind words. I have over time gotten better about using pictures. Look around the site. We have been posting a little over a year and over that time I have gotten better and better about pictures. I am still working on refining my picture taking. I have actually purchased two cameras since I started. Practice makes perfect I guess. Have a great holiday season and Happy New Year to you too!!!!! Mary

  3. Just thought i would comment and say neat theme, did you code it yourself? Looksfantastic.

  4. How do You have an impressive page, aided myself a ton when i was creating my personal site 🙂

  5. Hi there, just wanted to mention, I enjoyed this post.
    It was funny. Keep on posting!

  6. Wow, this piece of writing is pleasant, my younger
    sister is analyzing these kinds of things, so I am
    going to let know her.

  7. Cora J. Hall says:

    It’s awesome to pay a visit this web site and reading the
    views of all colleagues concerning this piece of writing, while I am
    also eager of getting knowledge.

Leave a Reply

