Olé!

Yummy Chicken Enchiladas, spicy and cheesy chips and salsa

There’s nothing I like more than Mexican food, especially a good enchilada and fabulous salsa. So, on my day off I decided to get back in the kitchen!

First, I had to find a use for some ricotta cheese as I can’t stand wasting food. Now, I wouldn’t normally associate ricotta cheese as an ingredient in Mexican food but to my surprise I found a recipe on the Weight Watchers site. I should mention that not only is the site a fantastic way to track points, get exercise tips, reach out to other community members, but search for healthy recipes. The best part is you can type in an ingredient that you have in your fridge or pantry and the will come back with pages upon pages of suggestions, which is how I found the recipe for Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas with Green Sauce (see recipe below).

In looking over the recipe, I made some modifications to it as the directions for preparing the enchiladas had too many steps. I decided to combine the cheeses, chicken, chopped cilantro and added some of the salsa verde in one bowl and then assemble the enchiladas. I typically like things a bit saucy, so I poured the remaining salsa verde over the enchiladas and sprinkled some cheese on top to give it a golden brown crust.

Ingredients

1 pound(s) uncooked boneless skinless chicken breasts

 1 1/2 cup(s) salsa, verde variety, medium or hot   

6 whole wheat, 6-inch tortillas   

3/4 cup(s) part-skim ricotta cheese   

3/4 cup(s) shredded reduced-fat Monterey Jack cheese (I used Lucerne brand by Safeway Monterey Jack with Jalapeno Peppers and Cheddar cheeses) 

1/2 cup(s) cilantro, fresh, coarsely chopped   

Directions

Season two chicken breasts (which should weigh in at one pound) and season them with salt and pepper. Place two pats of butter on the chicken and bake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. Remove from the oven and let cool. Once they are cool enough to handle, shred them and put aside.

Combine the ricotta, Monterey jack, chopped cilantro and about ½ – ¾ cup of salsa verde. Stir and add the shredded chicken. Spoon a ½ cup of the mixture in to the tortillas. Repeat (this recipe made 6 enchiladas).

In a 9 x 13 inch baking dish, pour some of the salsa verde on the bottom of the dish.  Place prepared enchiladas, seam side down, in the dish and cover with the remaining salsa verde and a ½ cup of the shredded Monterey Jack cheese.

Bake the enchiladas for 15-20 minutes, or until they are bubbling and golden brown, at 400 degrees.

WOW! Who knew ricotta cheese would be a great ingredient in Mexican food? Certainly not me, but this is something I will definitely make again.

Kristine

This entry was posted in chicken, Food, international cuisine, Mexican food, Recipe, ricotta cheese and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Olé!

  1. Genny says:

    Enchiladas are almost the only entree` that I order when we go to a Mexican restaurant , but I have never tried making it at home. I wondered how to do it; now I know! I’ll have to try this. Sounds relatively easy to do.

  2. Pingback: Ole! for traditions!! | The Delicious Divas

  3. Pingback: Christmas in Virginia-Kristine | The Delicious Divas

  4. Linda Pellien says:

    These were great, Kristine/Mary! I’ve made them a couple of times and my guests have really enjoyed them!

    –Linda Pellien

  5. Hi Linda…Glad to hear that you they’re a big hit! They freeze well too as long as you individually wrap them and in a freezer bag. I made a batch a while back and take them out when I have no energy to cook.

  6. Pingback: “Basketball, beer and bad food”-The Madness begins | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

