Chile Con Queso Supreme

It is that time again when everyone will be glued to a TV at home, at a friend’s, or the neighborhood bar and grill to watch the annual Super Bowl game.  One perfect food for watching any football game is cheese dip and tortilla chips.

The first time I enjoyed this dip I will share with you today was many, many years ago at a neighbor’s back in my hometown of Fairfax, Virginia.  It was one of those neighborhood gatherings where everyone brought something to share.

I loved this recipe so much I asked for the recipe.   I do not know the name of the person who shared this recipe with me because she did not put her name of the recipe card and frankly, I did not write it down either.  So, take heed everyone out there if you are going to share your recipes with others put your name on it.

I brought this along to a recent neighborhood gathering and as soon as my neighbor Joanne walked into the kitchen she said, “I remember this.  You made this once before and I loved it.  Don’t be surprised if you see me sitting in a chair next to the bowl and wind up eating it all”.

This recipe is so very simple to put together and only requires four ingredients.

 Chile Con Queso Supreme

1 lb. bulk sausage

2 lbs. Velveeta cheese, cut in inch cubes

½ Cup milk

1 (10 oz.) can tomatoes & green chilies, undrained and chopped

Directions:

Cook sausage over medium heat until done, drain well.

Place cheese and milk in top of double boiler.  Cook over medium heat until cheese melts.  Stir in sausage and tomatoes and chilies.

Serve warm with tortilla chips.

I used Jimmy Dean Hot bulk sausage because I know most of my neighbors like ‘hot’ foods and it would add a little extra kick to the dip.

The original recipe called for a 10 oz. can of tomatoes and green chilies.  The recipe did not identify a brand name so I am not sure if I used Ro*Tel or another brand but the last few years I have used only the Ro*Tel diced tomato and green chilies.

The cheese dip needs to be served hot and kept hot so the cheese remains soft and easy to scoop with a chip. The level of heat of the dip was perfect not to too, not too mild, just perfect.

Over the years the Super Bowl has fallen within a few days of my birthday.  About eight years ago our neighborhood got together to watch the game and celebrate February birthdays. The funniest gift I received was a NFL National Football League Pro Pot Slow Cooker Crock Pot.  The 1 ½ quart size makes it perfect for serving hot appetizers at a game party.  It was just too funny but I love it!  Every time I bring it to an event it causes laughter and isn’t that a really good thing in our very serious world?

Whether the Giants or the  Patriots win enjoy being with your friends/family and eating your favorite game foods.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in cheese dip, Chili con queso and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chile Con Queso Supreme

  1. Lana says:

    Yum! Sounds good.

    Lana

  2. Pingback: Party time Chili Dip | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

