Chili with magic ingredient yummy!!!!

This year’s Torrey Pines Butt Kicking Chili Cook-off was great.  And wait until you try this year’s winning chili.  It is rich, flavorful, the meat is incredibly tender and just plain good! I know because I made it recently and everyone I shared it with loved it too!

Last year’s winners Bob and Sandy chose a wonderful, balmy evening to host this fun and tasty event.  There are always lots of hugs and kisses as everyone walks through the door carrying what they hope will be the winning pot of chili.  I brought two and will post soon.

This year the coveted trophy was won by first time participants Jack and Diane Partin.  When I approached Diane the evening of the cook-off to offer my congratulations she mentioned that the recipe was actually her son’s.

Sandy (left) and Bob (left) hand off the much coveted chili cook-off trophy to Jack and Diane Partin (center).

I spent a delightful morning talking with Diane about entering the cook-off for the first time and her son’s recipe.  I had to laugh when at the outset of our conversation Diane made it very clear that she does not like to cook.

So I asked, “What did you do when you got the invitation?”

“I called my son Brian right away,” Diane said with a smile.

Diane went on to say that her son Brian started to cook at the age of 16.  She was not sure whether he used recipes from cookbooks or just read recipes and then improvises.  I asked if her son was a chef.  “No, but I am going to tell you that he can make anything,” she answered.  I needed to know if Brian created this recipe or had gotten it from a cookbook so Diane called and assured me that this was indeed his recipe.  I asked Diane if she would share the recipe with me so I could share on the blog.  This is the recipe she shared:

Chili with chocolate and coffee–Brian Partin

2 lbs. sirloin ( I had the butcher cut into 1 ½ inch pieces)

2 T oil

1 cup diced onions

1 clove garlic

couple of shakes of Tobasco sauce

1 T salt

1 cup chopped celery tops

3 T chili powder

1/4 cup vinegar

1 T paprika

1 can Pinto beans

28 oz. can crushed tomatoes

1 small can diced chili peppers

1 T powdered cocoa

2 cups freshly brewed coffee

Brown sirloin in oil.  Add the rest of the ingredients.  Simmer for 2 1/2 hours.  Be sure to drain off oil and meat fat.

***Note–the original recipe called for chopped sirloin.  When Diane gave me the recipe it read 2lbs sirloin.  Consequently, I purchased regular sirloin and had the butcher cut into  1  1/2″ pieces.  At the end of the cooking time I used a fork and knife and shredded the meat.  But it really doesn’t matter which way you make it because it will still be delicious!

As you can see all the ingredients are readily available at your local market and it is easy to prepare.  The one word that I would use about the taste of this chili is “rich”.

Okay, I asked, “If you do not like to cook who made the chili?”

“Jack made the chili I may have been his sous chef.  I think I may have diced the onions, the celery tops and opened a can.  Jack made everything else and put it all together,” continued Diane.

I saw Jack a few days later and he told me that, “I like new twists on recipes.  The coffee and chocolate ingredients were a new twist that I found interesting.  I used fresh brewed coffee.  That was the magic ingredient”.

I made the chili a few weeks later and loved the aroma of the chocolate wafting through my home.  The meat was incredibly tender and the sauce rich and tasty.  Randy came home from a ride and the first thing he said when he came into the kitchen was, “Wow, what is that you are cooking?  It smells fantastic”.

And indeed it did!!

As I often do I shared some of the chili with my neighbors one evening.  Before I got back to my house the phone rang.  It was Sandy and as I put the phone to my ear she was saying, “Hot damn, it is delicious!”.   Bob was in the background and I could hear him saying, “That’s good Texas chili.  The chili is great”!

And indeed it is!!

(*Note: Portions of the blog first appeared in my weekly column in the Daily Sun, Villages, Fl.)

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Chili, Chocolate, coffee, Event, Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chili with magic ingredient yummy!!!!

  1. Genny says:

    Sandy had it right – “Hot Dam”. Or to say it another way, Dam Hot!!! Of course, I’m wimpy when it comes to “heat” in most anything. Good job, Jack & Diana!

  2. Kristine says:

    So, I entered the 3rd Annual Parkfairfax Chili Cook-off that was yesterday and made this recipe. While I didn’t win, I did receive heaps of complimemts on the taste and texture of the chili. I did, however, make a few adjustments to the recipe. I swapped out the powdered cocoa for powdered mexican cocoa and espresso (1 1/2 cups) for the coffee. Also, I used ground sirloin and seemed to work just as good. Oh, yeah…I didn’t read the recipe properly and all I saw was “celery” vs. “celery tops”. So, I finely diced a cup of celery for the first batch and then didn’t even include it in the second batch. I’m not a big fan of celery, so if I make this again I most likely will omit that ingredient as well. Overall, a really good chili. I loved getting hit with the chocolate and espresso aromas when I lifted the lid off the crockpot.

    • Hi, Kristine–Sounds good. There’s always next year. I have been participating in a chili cook-off for nine years. I make a new one every year. I won once which gave me the privilege of owning the wonderful “Torrey Pines Butt Kickin’ Chili Cook-off” trophy for a year. Keep trying. Mom

  3. Pingback: Easy peasy crockpot chili | The Delicious Divas

  4. Pingback: Cocoa and Cinnamon make for a tasty chili | The Delicious Divas

  5. Pingback: Easy, delicious Chicken Chili | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

