Delicious Divas photo published in food/travel guide

No matter what anyone says, everyone likes to be recognized for their work and I am certainly no different.  So when I opened the blog site one day in March to post a new blog I noticed that there was a comment in our ‘About Us’ section and took a few moments to check it out.

The comment read, “Hi you have a great image of a building in Baddeck with a sign for lobster suppers.  I am designing the layout for a story in our Food and Travel guide which I like to use it in.  Please can you give me permission…If I could know as soon as possible as I go to press next week.  Many thanks, Graham”.

With no hesitation I answered, “Not a problem I would be honored”.  I took the extra step of sending him the .jpg via email so he could manipulate the picture if needed.  The magazine is Saltscapes a food and travel guide covering Canada’s east coast.  I learned later that Graham Whiteman is the senior designer of this food and travel guide.

The picture he was referring to was of the Baddeck Lobster Suppers restaurant in Nova Scotia where Randy and I and several friends enjoyed a wonderful lobster dinner while motorcycling around the Canadian provinces in July of 2010. I posted each night about all the wonderful places we had been and delicious food we had eaten on the trip.  Check out the posting that includes the picture chosen by Graham: https://deliciousdivas.wordpress.com/2010/07/25/friend-motorcycles-things-to-see-food-to-eat-part-ii-nova-scotia-friday/

Graham promised to send along a copy of the magazine as soon as it was published in late April.  I received the magazine today.  It was wonderful to open this beautifully written and laid out travel guide and see one of the pictures I had taken on that great trip.

Check out the link to the on-line version of the Saltscape Food and Travel Guide:  Saltscapes Food & Travel Guide 2012.  Check it out.  The picture is on page 22 in the on-line version of the guide.

Perhaps next time I can get one of my travel/food articles published in one of these beautiful guides.  Ah, yes, a new goal.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in food guide, lobster, lobster suppers, restaurant pictures, travel guide and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Delicious Divas photo published in food/travel guide

  1. Steve says:

    Congratulations! And it’s great that he gave your blog a plug with the credit line, too!

    • Hi, Steve–Thanks! I was very excited when I got his request. I know that I complain all the time about my cameras but I usually take good pictures in natural light. I need to work on inside light. Aunt Mary

  2. Kathy says:

    Congratulations, this is the best. I enjoy reading your blogs and seeing the pictures. You make me daydream about all the travels I may get to take someday. Keep on posting!!!!

    • Hi, Kathy–Thanks so much for the congrats and as always thanks for your kind words. I was so excited when the magazine came in the mail. I love that Graham put our website on the credit line of the picture. Hope all is well with you and yours. Have a great summer! Mary

  3. Genny says:

    Congratulations, Mary. I know you’re pleased as punch; you should be very proud to be internationally recognized! Keep up the good work.

  4. Mel says:

    Have you ever thought about writing an e-book or guest authoring on
    other sites? I have a blog based upon on the same information you discuss and would love to have you
    share some stories/information. I know my audience would
    appreciate your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

Leave a Reply

