Fudge-Nut Cake

I love chocolate, I love nuts and I love simple.  This recipe has all three qualifications for a great tasting and easy to make dessert.  I do not have to explain the love of chocolate and nuts but let me tell you something about loving ‘simple’.

I have learned after many years that one man’s simple is another man’s fussy.  My mother-in-law Myrtle was a good southern cook and a very funny woman.  Myrtle would make amazing pies every holiday much to the joy of my family.  Her pie crust was always wonderfully flaky and the filling delicious.   I did not like making pies because one mistake and the crust would turn out doughy.  Not good!  So I left the pie making to Myrtle.  On the other hand, whenever I would make a new recipe she would ask me how I prepared it and depending on the answer she would say with a little smile, “Oh my, that is just too fussy for me”.

Sometimes when I am making a dish with multiple steps or a recipe that takes a little extra time I find myself thinking of Myrtle and it makes me smile. This is one of those recipes.  The most time you will spend preparing this recipe is over the double boiler stirring the cocoa, milk and egg.

I found this recipe in the mid-seventies when I watched a great deal of late night television while my husband was traveling around the country for his job.  During that time I bought two Betty Crocker recipe boxes which after many months and many dollars were filled with some of the most amazing recipes that absolutely delighted my family.

Each month a new set of cards would arrive in the mail.  I loved it!  I would sit quietly with a cup of tea and pour over my newly acquired recipes and choose the one I would prepare and introduce to my family.  I had one rule during this time of experimentation:  Once everyone had a chance to try a new recipe each member of the family cast a vote in favor of or against the new dish.  The recipes the family did not like got the dreaded “X” and was never cooked again.

The Fudge-Nut Cake recipe I share today is one of the recipes that not only did not receive the dreaded “X” but instead became a family favorite.  I have been baking this wonderful cake for over forty years now and I never get tired of it and no matter who I serve it to they love it too.  The cake is rich, chocolaty and coupled with a scoop of really good vanilla ice cream is heavenly.

Fudge-Nut Cake

1 cup milk

½ cup cocoa

1 egg

½ cup shortening

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

1 cup sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ cup semisweet chocolate chips

½ cup chopped walnuts

Vanilla ice cream

Directions:

Heat oven to 350°.  Grease and flour baking pan, 9x9x2 inches.

Heat milk, cocoa and egg in double boiler, stirring constantly, until thickened; remove from heat.

Stir in shortening until melted.

Beat flour, sugar, baking powder and baking soda into cocoa mix until smooth. (Mixture will be thick).

Spread in pan; sprinkle with chocolate chips and walnuts.

Bake until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean, about 35 minutes.  Cut into 3-inch squares.  Top each square with a scoop of ice cream.  9 servings.

This recipe is no light weight when it comes to calories (no pun intended).  But like so many recipes in my files I prepare for them for special ocassions, picnics or share with family and friends.  This way I can enjoy a small piece, watch others enjoy it and there are no leftovers.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Betty Crocker, cake, Chocolate, Dessert, Food, fudge-nut cake, Recipe, walnuts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fudge-Nut Cake

  1. Pattie Rogus says:

    Sounds heavenly. This one I must try. Keep up those yummy recipes coming.

    • Hi, Pattie–Thanks for reading along. It really is a good recipe one that I would make all the time except my hips would get so big I wouldn’t be able to get through the door. Mary

  2. Genny says:

    Mary, you know what I enjoy about your blog? I’ll tell you. I enjoy the “behind the scenes” stories – the memories – that make you who you are and how you received your passions. The food is incidental. You give us a peak into your inner self. I like that. You are definitely more passionate about cooking/baking than I am! I’ll live vicariously through you. Thanks.

    • Genny–Thank you so much for your kind words. I love telling stories and sharing little bits of myself through my writing. I am honored that you see that too. Thanks, Mary

Leave a Reply

