Homeward Bound—The good, the bad and the interesting.

We started our ride with beautiful weather and beautiful scenery.

Today was a good, bad and interesting day on the road.  The good was realizing that we were only two days away from home.  I love being on the road but I love being home more.  Randy mapped out our route for the day that included short trips on interstates but most of the ride would be on back roads in Alabama and Georgia.

Steam rising off the road as we road through many showers today.

We started out on I-565 out of Huntsville to I-65 south to the Princeville exit to US-67 south to state road 278 to Gadsden, Alabama.  We stopped in Gadsden to fill up with gas and take a short break.  Then we got onto US-431 south to Anniston, Alabama where we stopped to have a small lunch.  After lunch we proceeded to state road 109 to US-27 south to I-185 to Columbus, Georgia and stopped at the Georgia welcome station for a short break.  We exited at end of I-185 and the entrance to Ft. Benning.  Back onto US-27 and state road 280 south to US-320 and state road 280 to Albany, Georgia. 

 

The bad along the road was trying to stay just a few miles ahead of the storms that were crossing Alabama and Georgia.  Several times we got pretty wet but kept rolling along. Randy kept saying, “I think if we keep going we will push out the rain in just a few minutes”.   Randy finally came to the decision that we should pull off and find a room for the night.  We were originally going to stop in Tifton, Georgia for the evening.  Instead we stopped in Albany.  There were only two choices of hotels we decided to stay at the Hampton Inn. 

Now the good and bad about where we stopped is that there was only one restaurant within walking distance.  Fortunately Outback Steakhouse is one of our favorite restaurants.  We did not want to eat a large meal so opted for soup and salad for dinner.  We both ordered the baked potato soup with a sprinkling of cheese and bacon bits and a small salad.  After being wet and cold several times on the road today the soup was wonderful.  Is there anything better than comfort food?   We, of course, had to have dessert so we ordered one slice of the restaurants delicious carrot cake.  We both enjoyed our dinner and dessert very much.

Building being reclaimed by nature.

What I find interesting about any ride we take is traveling through America’s countryside.  I love riding through small towns.  I love riding past large and small farms.  I love to look at the beautiful lakes and rivers. as we ride along.   

Randy loves roads that are hilly and curved.  Today we encountered roads that we call ‘arrow headed snakes’.  Roads that afford Randy an opportunity to lean aggressively into the turns one way and quickly to the next and back again.  You cannot do that on interstate highways.  He loves rolling hills too. 

Me, I just like looking at the countryside as it flies by my eyes.  Each town or rural area has its own unique character and beauty and gives Randy and me so many things to talk about as we ride along.  We spotted many beautiful churches of all denominations along the road.

I loved the architecture of many of the buildings we spotted as we drove through small rural towns.  I love this building.  The exterior looks old and uncared for and yet you can see delicate lace curtains hanging inside.  I couldn’t help but wonder if the occupant of this building had a sense of wonder as I noticed all the stars pasted/painted around the front door.  Interesting!

As we exited I-185 our eyes were filled with these beautiful statues of soldiers atop huge pillars at the entrance to Ft. Benning.   They were really something to see.  I could not wait to get to our evening’s home so I could learn about these wonderful pillars and statues.  Click on the link I think you will be interested.  

We passed many old and new cemeteries today that were beautiful.  In some of the cemeteries every gravesite was adorned with flowers.   I found that to be a very powerful statement of the community the cemeteries were located.

Tomorrow we will be on the road just one more time ending at our beautiful home.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in restaurants, soup and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Homeward Bound—The good, the bad and the interesting.

  1. Steve says:

    I always prefer traveling smaller back roads to big, boring interstates. I’m not even sure interstates are all that much faster, they’re so crowded nowadays. I-75? Please.

    Love the building with the starry doorway. Those upstairs curtains look pretty tattered, though. I wonder if anyone still lives there.

    • Good morning, Steve–We very rarely stay on the interstates. My romantic side would like to think someone is still there. Hope this finds you well and happy and looking forward to another great day. Aunt Mary

  2. Carolyn Schaut says:

    Mary, Thank you for your writing and photos. We can no longer do the bike but a convertible is almost as good; we like to traverse and experience the country as you do. The Ft Benning link was most interesting, especially since we have a marathon runner in the family. (I’d like to know how you insert links like that w/o putting the whole address in the text.)

    • Hi, Carolyn–thanks for stopping by and leaving some kind words. I always enjoy hearing about your travels too. I will send you a separate email with the instructions on how to link internet sites in a document. Mary

  3. Hello there, You have done an incredible job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  4. Cibele says:

    excellent information. i bookmarked it for future reference. thanks a lot!http://www.xcalibar.com

  5. Eunice says:

    Hey! Thiss poist could not be written any
    better! Reading this post reminds mee of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this.

    I will forward this post to him. Fairly cwrtain he
    will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  6. I have been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will
    be much more useful than ever before.

  7. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am
    impressed! Extremely useful information particularly the
    last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a
    long time. Thank you and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

