Summer coffee filled with yummy treats!

It was that time again for me to host the neighborhood coffee.  But, oh my, just two weeks before the coffee Randy and I ventured off for a two week motorcycle trip to the Natchez Trace and back.  We were only home a few days and we had company coming from New Mexico and then a day later our granddaughter was coming to spend a month.

To say that I was a little crunched would be a huge understatement.  I actually considered for a moment of going to Panera Bread and ordering breakfast breads, etc. and taking it easy.  But that was just for a moment.  I do love to cook so I pulled recipes together, prepared my shopping list and set aside the day before the coffee to prepare these wonderful dishes.

The menu:

Lightened Hummingbird Cake – Southern Living February 2001

This cake was just wonderful.  I have offered both traditional and lightened recipes at many events that I host as many people are conscience of weight and other diet restrictions.  The Southern Living kitchens said, “We lowered the fat and calories by substituting applesauce for some of the oil, using less butter and sugar, fewer eggs, and substituting light for regular cream cheese”.  The wonderful result was a delicious, rich and moist cake.  The contrast of the sweetness of the cake and the tang of the cream cheese was wonderful.

Bacon, Gruyère, and Ham Strata – Cooking Light December 2005

I really liked this recipe because I could assemble it and then bake just before my guests arrived.  Again this was a light version using fat free milk and egg substitute.  The combination of ham, Gruyère cheese and bacon was just wonderful.  Many of my guests also picked up on the addition of the Dijon mustard and loved it.

Kicked Up French Toast – Foodnetwork.com -Emeril Lagasse 2001

I always have at least two savory dishes whenever I host a coffee.  After much searching I came across this one on the Foodnetwork.  It just sounded yummy and seemed simple to assemble and prepare.  After I cooked all the sandwiches I cut each sandwich into four triangles and arranged on a plate then sprinkled with powdered sugar.  The only ingredient that I substituted was the cinnamon raisin bread. (I do not like raisins in my food).  Instead I used cinnamon swirl bread.  Also instead of making the bacon twirls I just cooked up a pound of bacon and snapped in half and placed on separate plate.  I put a small bowl containing maple syrup alongside. This dish was very popular.

Cinnamon-Sour Cream Streusel Loaf – Christmas Southern Living 1998

I love Southern Living!  Every recipe in their magazines is mouthwatering.  I wanted one or two coffee cakes and found this one in one of their cookbooks Christmas with Southern Living 1998. Unfortunately, I was unable to find the recipe on line so I will post it in a separate blog and include the recipe and cooking instructions.

Fruit Salad with Limoncello – Barefoot Contessa – Back to basics

I always serve fresh fruit at my coffees and I have served this one before.  It is so popular I decided to use it again.  The combination of strawberries, raspberries, blueberries and bananas is just wonderful.  Then add the yogurt and limoncello topping and this fruit salad is a mouth treat.  I serve this wonderful fruit salad in 6 oz. plastic bowls that are just perfect for a small refreshing addition to the savory and sweet dishes on the menu.

Blueberry Crumb Cake – Barefoot Contessa – At Home

I love this easy to make crumb cake.  I have served this cake for coffees, light continental breakfasts and as a light dessert on a hot summer’s evening.  This little cake is always a winner. Like Ina Garten I remember the crumb cakes that my mom bought from local bakeries in Brooklyn.  They were always good, so too is this crumb cake and all the more appetizing with the addition of blueberries.

Mocha Chip Scones – Foodnetwork.com – Sandra Lee

My granddaughter Madalyn comes down to visit each summer. This was a recipe I taught my granddaughter Madalyn to make while she was visiting the summer of 2008.  I enjoy sharing my love of cooking with her and so went searching for a recipe that was both easy and would appeal to a child.  I came across this on the Foodnetwork and immediately thought: This is just great!  This year she did everything on her own.  She did a great job and received many compliments from our guests.  Our yield is a little more as we cut rounds instead of triangles.  The day of the coffee we put out bowls of strawberry jam and fresh, sweetened whipped cream.  My husband eats these wonderful scones like cookies that is whenever there is any left.

I love our monthly neighborhood coffees.  The coffees give many members of our neighborhood an opportunity to get together and share things that have gone on in each others lives.  It is also a

wonderful way for us to keep up with who is sick, hospitalized or needs some comforting.

 

As you can see I love to collect and save cookbooks, food magazines and recipes I find on the internet.  I may not use the recipes right away but they are great reference material when I decide to entertain.  Try one or more of these recipes you will not regret it.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in bacon, bananas, Barefoot Contessa, bisquick, blueberries, blueberry crumb cake, cake, Cookbook, Cooking Light, Desserts, Food, fruit salad, Sandra Lee, sandwiches, scones, strawberries and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Summer coffee filled with yummy treats!

  1. Randy says:

    The Blue Berry Crumb Cake was wonderful even a couple of days after the coffee. YUM.

  2. Liz says:

    Alright, Mary, that does it…..I’m movin’ to Torrey Pines!!

  3. Genny says:

    Here it is – lunchtime; I’m hungry and looking at all these pictures is making me even hungrier!!! I’m sorry I missed out on your Kaffee Klatch.

    • Genny–First let me say what a great job the Garden Club did yesterday with the grandkids. And, your presentation was right on. The kids were engaged during your entire presentation. I’m sorry you missed too. Next time. Mary

  4. Pingback: Cinnamon-Sour Cream Streusel Loaf | The Delicious Divas

  5. Pingback: Five years and counting for the Delicious Divas blog | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

