Cinnamon-Sour Cream Streusel Loaf

As I mentioned in my last blog “Summer coffee filled with tasty treats”, I could not find an Internet link to a wonderful recipe I found in the Christmas with Southern Living 1998 cookbook.

As promised here is the recipe and cooking directions.  You will love this simple to make, delicious streusel loaf.  I served it at our monthly neighborhood coffee.  What makes this coffee cake yummy is the addition of sour cream.  The sour cream adds a delicate moisture and taste that appealed to many of my guests; it will appeal to yours too.

Cinnamon-Sour Cream Streusel Loaf

½ cup butter or margarine, softened

1 cup sugar

1 large egg

1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour

½ teaspoon baking powder

¼ teaspoon salt

½ cup sour cream

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

½ cup chopped pecans

¼ cup firmly packed brown sugar

1 tablespoon sugar

½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

(1)   Beat butter at medium speed of an electric mixer until creamy; gradually add 1 cup sugar, beating well.  Add egg, beating until blended.

(2)   Combine flour, baking powder, and salt; add to butter mixture alternately with sour cream, beginning and ending with flour mixture.  Beat at low speed just until blended.  Stir in vanilla.

(3)   Combine pecans and remaining 3 ingredients.  Pour half of batter into a greased and floured 8 ½” x 4 ½” x 3” loaf-pan; sprinkle with half of pecan mixture.  Pour remaining batter into pan; top with remaining pecan mixture.

(4)   Bake at 350° for 1 hour or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.  (Cover with aluminum foil during last 15 minutes of baking to prevent excessive browning, if necessary.)  Cool in pan on a wire rack 10 minutes, remove from pan, and cool completely.

There were a few slices left and we were off to the beach the next day so I wrapped them tightly in cling wrap and put in the freezer.  A few days later I took them out, defrosted them and served to my family for breakfast.  The cake was as moist and delicious as the first day I served it.

I would like to take just a moment to thank everyone who responded so nicely to my granddaughter’s recipe for French toast and our visit to a local tea house.  As I mentioned earlier Madalyn is a joy and I love to share my love of cooking with her and hope that she will do the same someday with her grandchildren.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in cake, coffee, coffee cake, Cookbook, Food, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cinnamon-Sour Cream Streusel Loaf

  1. Eileen says:

    Sounds good. I probably ate it at your KK but everything tasted good that day. I wonder if toasting the pecans would add anything?

  2. dee manin says:

    I LOVE SOUR CREAM IN CAKES ETC IT ALWAYS MAKES A GOOD TEXTURE……..TRYING IT TOMORROW………..DEE

  3. Randy says:

    MMMMMM Good…

  4. Genny says:

    Mary, I tried out the recipe this morning. I used Black Walnuts because I didn’t have any Pecans tho. Not bad, but it would have a sweeter taste with Pecans, me thinks!

  5. Johanne says:

    Sounds like a keeper Mary. I will have to try it after John and I go off our diets, ha!
    Johanne

Leave a Reply

