Beef Stroganoff in the summer?

Good question but yes, beef stroganoff in the summer.  Actually I did not plan to have what even I consider a cold weather meal but I live in Florida and this time of the year we Floridians are always aware that tropical storms lurking in the Atlantic can become a hurricane at any moment.

I remember vividly the four hurricanes that hit my home state between mid-august and September of 2004 that wreaked havoc all across the state.  One memory that sticks with me is the many residents in our community who experienced a long and protracted power outage.  Our community banded together and those without power brought their defrosting meats, etc. and those with power donated side dishes, salads and desserts and had a wonderful community cookout.

Earlier this summer the northeast was hit with not only a heat wave but thunder storms that knocked out power to millions of people.  My daughter Jennifer lost power for a week losing everything in her refrigerator-freezer and meat freezer.  She lost hundreds of dollars of food.  It was devastating.

Consequently, as soon as hurricane season starts again I start taking stock of what is in my freezer and clean it out and keep only a small amount of food in the freezer for the rest of hurricane season.  I was down to two packages of meat this week; a package of cubed round steak and some chicken breasts.  I chose the round steak because I also had a half cup of sour cream left over from another recipe and thought: now what can I do with these two ingredients?  The first thing that came to mind was beef stroganoff.  I love beef stroganoff and had not made it in a very long time and realized that I had never made it for Randy either.

This recipe came from my collection of Betty Crocker Step-by-Step recipes I bought way back in the 70’s.  It became a family favorite.  This recipe is easy and inexpensive to make.  The original recipe called for beef stew meat but the round steak was fine although I must admit that I preferred the tenderness of the stew beef.

There have been so many variations created since its first inception in Russia back in the early 19th century and I have tried several but this one has remained my favorite.  My favorite touches to this recipe are the addition of Worcestershire sauce and red pepper sauce.  These two ingredients give the sauce just a little kick that I tend to like in my food.

As I mentioned this was the first time I had prepared this recipe for Randy and he usually does not tolerate spicy foods.  I noticed that he took more than one serving so I asked what he thought of the meal.   As he finished the last bite on his plate he said, “I loved it.  I thought it was very creamy and the meat was really tender.  To my tender little taste buds the spices were mild and made the sauce really tasty”.  Now that was music to my ears!

Stroganoff:

2 Tablespoons flour

¼ teaspoon salt

1 ½ pounds beef stew meat, cut into ½ inch pieces

1 medium onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, finely chopped

3 Tablespoons shortening

¾ cup water

½ cup tomato sauce

1 can (4oz) mushroom stems and pieces, drained

1 Tablespoon instant beef bouillon

1 Tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

4 drops red pepper sauce

½ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon pepper

½ cup dairy sour cream

Hot cook noodles

Mix flour and salt; coat beef stew meat with flour mixture.  Cook and stir onion and garlic in shortening in 10-inch skillet until onion is tender; remove from skillet.  Cook and stir beef in same skillet until brown.  Stir in onion, garlic, water, tomato sauce, mushrooms, instant bouillon, Worcestershire sauce, pepper sauce, salt and pepper.  Heat to boiling; reduce heat.  Cover and simmer until beef is tender, about 1 hour.  Stir in sour cream.  Serve over noodles.

This recipe makes 6 servings.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in beef, Betty Crocker, Food, Recipe, sour cream and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Beef Stroganoff in the summer?

  1. Jane Fortmann says:

    My mouth is watering. This used to be a staple for us years ago. Why did we get away from it.??
    Jane

    • Jane–I’m not sure. I made it for years long ago when my family was growing. After they left I just didn’t make it anymore. It is really fun now to look back and pull up some old recipes and discover all over again whey they became a staple. Really good. Mary

  2. Trudy says:

    Sounds great Mary and I’ll make it in the near future. It has been a warm summer up here in the north but cooled off this week so stroganoff will do well.
    Trudy

    • Trudy–Yes, as I mentioned inthe blog I used to only consider this a winter meal much like lasagne, stew and soups. But it really hit the spot and I discovered all over again just why it became a staple in my home those many years ago. Mary

  3. dee manin says:

    sounds yummy………

  4. Eileen says:

    I’m wonder could I use a piece of rib eye steak whose other half wasn’t too tender?

    • Eileen–I am not a big fan of rib eye not so sure it would be tender enough but it would be interesting to try and see. If you make it with the rib eye let me know how it turned out. Mary

  5. Don Lamb says:

    stroganoff has always been one of my most favorite meals, thanks Mary

  6. Randy says:

    I can tell you from experience, it was mouth watering good.

  7. Johanne says:

    My gosh Mary, I just made beef stroganoff the other night and it was so good. Haven’t made it in a very long time. It is good to bring back some old receipes we used to cook.
    Johanne

    • Johanne–You are so right. Funny how we cook something for so many years and then drift away from it. Tastes change, ideas about healthy foods change, etc. But in the end good is good and we find ourselves yearing for those wonderful recipes of yesterday. Mary

  8. Tina Montalbano says:

    Hmmm…just bought some beef stew meat. Now I have a new recipe for it. Can’t wait to try it.

  9. Pattie Rogus says:

    Mary, I just made Beef Stroganoff last night and thought I must be nuts for making it in the hot summer. Glad I’m not alone. Actually, I had a package of prepared Hormel’s beef tips with gravy in the freezer I wanted to use, and figured they would make a quickie stroganoff by adding sauted mushrooms, onions, and sourcream. It wasn’t bad , but your’s sound so much tastier. Cook on.

  10. Bob and Sandy says:

    Hi Mary: My mouth is watering, so will keep this in mind when we return home. What’s not to like about noodles, sour cream and MEAT? Sandy

  11. You are so wonderful!!! I’ve become obsessed with your blog and I spend most of my days reading all your posts. And I signed up JUST to post comments. I wish I had found you sooner, and I wish you updated as much as you used to! You must be awful busy now though because you’re so famous!
    !

    • Hello–Thank you for the very kind words. I will get back to posting more often soon. My daughter Kristine and I started this blog and kept quite busy. However, she like so many people she lost her job and was out of work for fifteen months. She did find a part-time job but had crazy hours. Consequently buying food, preparing fun meals and blogging was not her first priority. She is back working now and will be cooking and blogging soon. We appreciate your interest. Keep reading. Mary

  12. Pat Donovan-Sidenstick says:

    Hi Mary,

    Hope that you both are well. I made the Stroganoff last week- delicious!!! My son was here so we enjoyed it together. Bill, of course, being vegetarian did not consume, but saw our enjoyment.

    • Hi, Patty–I am so glad you tried it. We love it. I’ll look around for some really good vegetarian dishes in the coming months. Yes, Randy and I are both well and happy and enjoying retirement. Hope the same for you and Bill. Mary

Leave a Reply

