‘This and That’ rich, chocolaty cookies

This is a tale of two batches of cookies one batch that crumbled into pieces and one batch that turned out to be rich, chocolaty deliciousness.

First let me tell you about the crumbled batch.  I try to keep the cookie jar filled as Randy has a habit of wandering aimlessly around the kitchen every now and then in search of something sweet to eat.  I decided one day to bake a batch but found that I only had a partial bag of this (white morsels), a partial bag of that (chocolate chips) and a handful of something else (walnuts).  Not to be deterred I decided I would just mix them all together and make one cookie.

I decided to use the recipe on the back of the white morsel bag but unfortunately had cut the bag and half the recipe was missing.  I went out to the internet and looked up ‘white morsel recipes’ and found the ‘Toll House® White Chip Chocolate Cookies’ recipe.

Now I tend to think of myself as a pretty good cook and went about preparing the batter, baking the cookies and letting them cool.  I had a suspicion from the moment I tried to lift the cookies from the baking sheet that there might be a problem.  They were much too soft and kept cracking and falling apart.  I let them cool a little longer than usual and finally put them into the cookie jar.  I went back the next day and tried to take a few out for lunch but all I could pull out were pieces and each time I tried the cookies would just crumble in my hand.

What to do?  I considered that it was the recipe I had downloaded but negated that quickly as it came from Nestle®.  So, what else was I to think, perhaps human error?  Now most people would have just thrown away the whole mess and moved on but not me.  After much thought I decided that either I did not put in enough flour or I did not have the required ounces of chips.  Either way I was off to the store to buy white chips, chocolate chips and walnuts and returned to my kitchen to re-create what I had done the day before but hopefully better.

Fortunately I had taken a picture of the mixture of chips so knew approximately how many of each I had used.  This time I weighed the chips to make sure I had exactly 12 ounces (7 ounces of white chips and 5 ounces of chocolate chips) I used ½ cup of walnuts too.  What I discovered as I was preparing the batter was that I had indeed not put in the right amount of flour.  Not really sure how I made that mistake but oh well.

Voilà!  This time the cookies turned out just right.  What is really nice about these cookies is that each chip offers a different taste sensation.  The white chips offer just sweet goodness, the chocolate chips when added to the cocoa powder added an even richer chocolaty taste and the walnuts a nice flavor and crunch of their own.  Oh, and I used Hershey’s cocoa powder because that is what I always have in my cupboard.  This then is a combination of the recipe I found on line and my own blend of added goodness:

Mary’s This and That cookies:

2 ¼ cups all-purpose flour

2/3 cup Hershey’s cocoa

1 teaspoon baking soda

¼ teaspoon salt

1 cup margarine, softened

¾ cup granulated sugar

2/3 cup packed brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 large eggs

½ cup walnuts, chopped

7 ounces Nestle® Toll House Premier White Morsels

5 ounces Nestle® Toll House semi-sweet chocolate chips

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F.
  2. Combine flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt in small bowl.  Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy.  Beat in eggs.  Gradually beat in flour mixture.  Stir in morsels and walnuts.  Drop by well-rounded teaspoon onto ungreased baking sheets.
  3. Bake for 9 to11 minutes or until centers are set.  (I cooked mine for 11 minutes).  Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Randy would have eaten the entire cookie jar of crumbly pieces if I had not thrown them away but definitely loved the new batch.  When I asked him what he thought he said, “The first cookies were very good but crumbly.  The second tasted the same but this one was not crumbly.  I liked them both”.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in cookies, Food, Nestle Toll House premier white morsels, Recipe, semi-sweet chocolate chips, walnuts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ‘This and That’ rich, chocolaty cookies

  1. Next time you have crumbly cookies….. press them into the bottom of a pie plate and youmay have the base of delicious chocolate or banana cream pie…/? et me know if that works.

    • Jane, What a great idea. Actually, after I tossed the pile of crumbs I thought it would have been nice to add them to pudding. Would have made a dynamite dessert. Oh, well maybe next time. Mary

  2. Randy says:

    That Pie Idea sounds great. The second batch tasted just as good as the first batch, except the second batch had more body and were really good. I just had one it was mouth watering good!!!!

Leave a Reply

