Easy, delicious Coq Au Vin

Several days before leaving on our recent cruise we received a call from Randy’s sister telling us that she would be on the east coast on business and would stop by for a few days.  The first thought I always have when someone is coming to visit is: What to cook?

Antoinette would be arriving within three days of our return and we were not really sure what her schedule was so I set about choosing at least two main dishes to prepare before we left on our trip.  Summer was over but winter was just a cold snap away so I decided to make a dish that was more substantial than a salad but  lighter than a stew.  As I do so often I drifted back to the many wonderful dishes I cooked for my family back in the seventies.

One recipe I chose was a ‘Coq Au Vin’ from the Betty Crocker Recipe Card Libraryfrom 1971. This recipe was in the “Entertaining on a Shoestring” section of the library.  I loved these recipe cards because as a young woman and just learning to cook for a family they had not only the recipe but wonderful pictures of what the dish looked like and suggestions on what to serve with the dish sometimes including dessert.   Can you see the stains on the card?  That tells you just much I loved this dish and how often I made it much to the delight of my family.

I love this recipe because the chicken cooks up so incredibly delicious and tender.  This particular recipe calls for all things readily available at the grocery store.  When I shopped at Giant Food Stores in Virginia they had a chicken package called ‘pick of the chix’ which was perfect for this dish.  It had three breasts, three legs and three thighs.  This selection was just perfect for our family, something for everyone.  I still use the combination of chicken today.

Burgundy is the typical wine used in this dish however; many regions of France use local wines, Rieslings, Beaujolais, Champagne and others.  I stayed true to the recipe using Burgundy.

COQ AU VIN

3- to 3 ½ pound broiler-fryer chicken, cut up

½ cup Gold Medal flour

1 teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon pepper

6 slices bacon

6 small onions

½ pound mushrooms, sliced

4 carrots, halves

1 cup chicken broth

1 cup red Burgundy

1 clove garlic, crushed

½ teaspoon salt

*Bouquet Garni: Tie ½ teaspoon crushed thyme leaves, 1 bay leaf and 2 large sprigs parsley in cheese cloth bag or place them in tea ball.

Wash chicken and pat dry. Mix flour, salt and pepper; coat chicken with flour mixture.  In large skillet fry bacon until crisp; drain and set aside.  Brown chicken in hot bacon drippings.

Push chicken aside; add onions and mushrooms and cook and stir until onions are tender.  Drain off fat.  Crumble bacon; stir in with remaining ingredients.

Cover; simmer about 1 hour or until chicken is tender.  Remove Bouquet Garni before serving.  Skim off excess fat.  If desired, sprinkle with snipped parsley.  4-6 servings.

*(I usually do not bother to put the thyme, bay leaf and parsley in cheese cloth or a tea ball I just add along with other ingredients. I remove the bay leaf before serving.)  This dish can be made a day ahead.

Antoinette and Randy

As it turned out Antoinette had a very busy schedule so in the end we only had one meal together.  I served the Coq au vin over wide egg noodles, added a salad and crusty bread for a perfect dinner for a breezy, cool, fall evening.

I had never made this particular dish for Randy and was surprised when he cleaned his plate.  You see he hates cooked carrots.   “I really do not like cooked carrots,” he said after finishing his meal.   “But I liked these carrots.  They were really good”.  Trust me when I tell you that is high praise from Randy.

I made a wonderfully light dessert to finish the meal but that is a blog for another day.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in bacon, Betty Crocker, Burgundy, carrots, chicken, chicken broth, coq au vin, Food, French cuisine, Recipe, wine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Easy, delicious Coq Au Vin

  1. Barbara Williams says:

    Dear Mary,
    I Will certainly try this recipe, it looks marvelous.

    • Hello Barbara, My family loved this recipe. I used many cards from this library and at the end of each meal my girls would chant, “One, two, three Mommy is a good cooker”. You can’t beat that as an endorsement. Enjoy, Mary

  2. Pingback: Easy, delicious Coq Au Vin | The Delicious Divas | Mr. Barbeque

  3. Randy says:

    I enjoyed it very much. I do not care for cooked carrots normally, but the carrots were quite tasty…..

    • Hi, Randy–Had to comment about the carrots. I’ve watched you eat cooked carrots over the years. It is like a little boy being told to eat his peas and and watching him hide them under the potatoes, or feeding broccoli to the dog under the table. Very funny. Glad you enjoyed the meal. Mary

  4. Liz says:

    I have the 1976 version of those Betty Crocker recipe cards… Ah, those were the days!!

    • Hi, Liz–Yes indeed those really were the days. I had two sets and loved both. Unfortunately, when I divorced I got rid of so many things including the card sets. Fortunately, however I had putd some of my favorites in a binder. So not all is lost. Keep reading. Mary

  5. Genny says:

    Looks yummy, but I’m not so sure about the “Easy” part! About how long did it take to put it all together? And you leave the onions whole??

    • Hi, Genny–Easy, hard is a relative thing. It took a bit of time but once put togehter it just cooked along on the stove. I guess when I was young I would have thought it took me forever but now that I am experienced it did not seem that hard or long. I cut the onions in half. Over the years I learned that some people use pearl onions or frozen onions in their recipes. I am old schools so still use small onions and just cut in half. Either way it is a good recipe. Thanks for asking. Mary

  6. Anthony says:

    Great read. I’m looking forward to cheking out more comments later.

  7. Hi , people. You know, there are little information about it on the web . That`s why I wanted just to say thanks to the writer for such a interesting post ! I will surely share it on facebook You can also find more data on it down that link . Thank you for a perfect article !

  8. Mary says:

    I had that recipe card set also, I have not tried this one, but will copy your recipe and give it a whirl. looks delicious. I still have the original of the Beef Stroganoff which is one of Rick’s favorite meals to date. Thanks.
    P.S. Randy and the carrot story is too funny!

  9. Pingback: Sweet, creamy mini dessert | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

