Seared scallops with warm fruit salsa

Have you ever had a week, or two, that you wish you could just live over or forget?  Well, that is how I felt over the last two weeks.  I mentioned in my last post that I would start to eat a little healthier before the holidays so I could indulge a just little without that all annoying guilt.

As so many of you know that is much easier said than done.  I started out fine gathering up all my Cooking Light and Weight Watchers recipe magazines.  I looked through each looking for at least ten new recipes to try.  I found that number and several others that included salads, main dishes and several desserts.

I also looked for recipes that were relatively easy and quick meals to make because time is at such a premium during the hectic holiday season.  I decided to start with a seafood recipe that I found in Cooking Light ‘Fresh Food Fast’.  This edition boasted that the meals within had five ingredients and only took 15 minutes to prepare.  Perfect!

Seared scallops with fresh fruit salsa

12 large sea scallops (about 1 ¼ pounds)

Cooking spray

¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/8 teaspoon salt

Warm Fruit Salsa

4 teaspoons slice green onions

  1. Pat scallops dry with paper towels.  Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Coat pan with cooking spray.  Sprinkle scallops with pepper and salt.  Add scallops to pan; cook 3 minutes on each side or until done.  Remove scallops from pan; keep warm.
  2. Prepare Warm Fruit Salsa.
  3. Discard any accumulated juices from scallops; top evenly with Warm Fruit Salsa and onions.  Serve immediately.

Warm Fruit Salsa

2 teaspoons olive oil

1 garlic clove, minced

2 cups diced pineapple

1 ¼ cups chopped red bell pepper

¼ cup green tea with mango (such as Snapple)

2 teaspoons low-sodium soy sauce

1 tablespoon chopped fresh mint

  1. Heat oil in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Add garlic; sauté 1 minute.  Stir in pineapple and next 3 ingredients (through soy sauce), scraping pan to loosen browned bits; cook 3 minutes.  Stir in mint.

This meal dish was so simple to make and what is even better is good for you.

Nutrition information for the scallops: Calories 202, Fat 4g (sat 0.5g, mono 1.7g, poly 0.8g); Protein 249g; Carbohydrates 17.7g; Fiber 2.2g; Cholesterol 47mg; Iron 1mg; Sodium 394mg; Calcium 52mg. Makes 4 servings

Nutrition information for the salsa is: Calories 66, Fat 3g (sat 0.4g, mono 1.7g, poly 0.4g); Protein 1.1g; Carbohydrates 14.3g; Fiber 2.2g; Cholesterol 0mg, Iron lmg; Sodium 166mg; Calcium18mg. Makes 4 servings

To finish off the dinner I added a ¼ cup Jasmine rice and sliced tomatoes to each plate.  This was a very nice, tasty and light meal.  The preparation time for both was ten minutes with cooking time totaling 12 minutes.  I put the rice on as soon as I started to cook and sliced the tomatoes while the scallops cooked.

Randy loves scallops and I knew he would enjoy these.  I was really interested in his impression of the fruit salsa.  He remarked, “These are really good.  The salsa reminds me of eating something that is sweet and sour at the same time.  It’s good”.   I guess that means this recipe is a keeper.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Cooking Light, Food, pineapple, Recipe, red pepper, scallops, tomatoes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Seared scallops with warm fruit salsa

  1. Genny says:

    So, Mary, what did YOU eat?!? Thought you didn’t like seafood? I, too, love scallops — but of course Bill doesn’t. I like the sounds of this (except for the red pepper–they don’t agree with me). Maybe I can get a small amount, just for me, and try this out.

    • HI, Genny–I ate one so I could see how they turned out and to see if I would eat this recipe again. Yes, and yes. I liked the salsa. The Jasmine rice was a perfect side to balance off the tastes in the scallop dish. I am trying hard to build my taste for seafood. Seafood really is one of the better foods to eat. Over the last several years I have learned to like salmon and eat it quite regularly, flounder, shrimp and have eaten halibut on ocassion. Thanks for stopping by and leaving some words. Mary

  2. Connie says:

    This sounds really good. I’m not sure about scallops. I like shrimp and lobster. I should probably try scallops. Connie

    • Hi, Connie–I’ve send many times that I really don’t like seafood but have been trying to incorporate a little more each year because I know in the end that it is good for everyone. I have eaten scallops now several times and each time have enjoyed them. That is not to say that I would make a steady habit of eating them. I do, however, make them for Randy because he really likes them. I’m getting there. Over the last several years I have learned to like salmon and eat it quite regularly, flounder, shrimp and have eaten halibut on ocassion. Thanks for stopping by and leaving some words. Mary

  3. M L Severson says:

    Scallops….anyway anytime! Lucky Randy

  4. Randy says:

    I loved it…….

  5. I would love it too…. Dick wouldn’t like the fruit…

  6. Try avocado and tomato with Tapatio (scorching sauce) I make use of lettuce leaves to maintain it completely since cannot eat buns.

  7. Pingback: Light, tasty Spaghetti Pie | The Delicious Divas

  8. Groduhdum says:

    Can I just say what a relief to uncover an individual who basically knows what theyre talking about on the net. You absolutely know learn how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More men and women need to read this and know this side of the story. I cant think youre not far more preferred for the reason that you undoubtedly have the gift.

    Youth NFL Jerseys

  9. duelpelcome says:

    Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.

    cheap jordans

    cheap jordans

Leave a Reply

