Asiago-Crusted Pork Chops

Thanksgiving is just a few days away and as always I am excited; excited because I love everything about Thanksgiving.  I love the chill in the air, the leaves on the trees turning beautiful hues of yellow, orange and red.  I love having friends and neighbors come to our table to share a bounty of wonderfully delicious foods.

But today I am still on my quest to find tasty, healthy foods to add to my growing list of favorite dishes.  Today I prepared a dish from Cooking Light’s 2009 Fresh Food Fast weeknight meals special edition.

I chose the Asiago-Crusted Pork Chops recipe for tonight’s dinner.  As I mentioned in my last post all the recipes in this all-recipe edition are 5 ingredient-15 minute recipes which at this busy holiday time are just perfect.  This recipe also suggested serving the pork chops with Broccoli with Sour Cream Sauce.

The only ingredient I did not have on hand was the cheese but was it was available at my local grocery store.  Over the last ten years the availability of ingredients at my local grocery store in the backwoods of Florida that I have needed has been sketchy at best but getting better.  Life is good!

Asiago-Crusted Port Chops

4 (4-ounce) boneless center-cut loin pork chops

1 egg white, lightly beaten

½ cup panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)

¼ cup (1 ounce) grated Asiago cheese

¼ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon black pepper

1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

4 lemon wedges

2 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme

  1. Place pork between 2 sheets of plastic wrap; pound to an even thickness (about ¼ inch) using a meat mallet or a small heavy skillet.
  2. Place egg white in a shallow dish.  Combine panko, cheese, salt, and pepper in a shallow dish.  Dip pork in egg white; dredge inn panko mixture, pressing gently with fingers to coat.
  3. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat.  Add pork; cook 3 to 4 minutes on each side or until lightly browned.  Squeeze 1 lemon wedge over each chop; sprinkle each evenly with thyme.

Calories 253; Fat 12g (sat 4.1g, mono 5.4g, poly 1g); Protein 27.4g; Carbohydrates 6.2g; Fiber 0.6g; Cholesterol 71mg; Iron 0.7mg; Sodium 297mg; Calcium 83mg.

Broccoli with Sour Cream Sauce

1 (12-ounce) package refrigerated broccoli florets

1/3 cup reduced-fat sour cream

2 tablespoons 1% low-fat milk

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

¼ teaspoon salt

  1. Microwave broccoli according to package directions.
  2. While the broccoli cooks, combine sour cream and the remaining ingredients in a small saucepan.  Cook over medium heat until thoroughly heated, stirring frequently (do not boil).
  3. Arrange broccoli on individual serving plates; drizzle with sauce.

Calories 60; Fat 3g (sat 1.7g, mono 0g, poly 0.2g); Protein 3.7g; Carbohydrates 6.4g; Fiber 2.5g; Cholesterol 11mg; Iron 0.8mg; Sodium 214mg; Calcium 84mg.

The pork chops were very easy to prepare although I did not pound them as thin as recommended.  No problem, I just cooked them for 1 extra minute on each side and they came out perfect.  The breading was very interesting.  I loved the cheese but I felt I needed a side that would add moisture to the meal so I added sliced tomatoes.   As it turned out I already had a broccoli with cheese sauce in my freezer so I did not prepare the broccoli recipe.

I must admit that I have mixed feelings about adding this recipe to my collection.  Never one to be quick to judge I will prepare at least one more time before making a final decision and then I will also prepare the broccoli dish too.

I went on line in search of the original recipe to see what others thought about it.  There were four reviews using words like, “delicious”, “family favorite”, and “loved it”.  But in several of the  reviews the writer said they used different seasonings.  One used Tony Chachere’s and another Adobo Goya replacing salt and pepper.

Randy thought the pork chops were, “Okay,” but said he preferred the way I usually make them.  I usually season with salt, pepper, and sometimes a little garlic salt, then spoon a little oil on both sides of the chop and then broil for about 5-6 minutes on each side.  The chops and a small bowl of applesauce and Randy is happy.

Tomorrow I plan on preparing breakfast for dinner.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in broccoli, cheese, panko breadcrumbs, pork chops, Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Asiago-Crusted Pork Chops

  1. Pingback: Asiago-Crusted Pork Chops | The Delicious Divas | Mr. Barbeque

  2. Randy says:

    I love pork chops, no matter how they are made, as long as there is applesause somewhere on the table.

  3. Pingback: Light, tasty Spaghetti Pie | The Delicious Divas

  4. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is wonderful, as well as the content!

  5. Groduhdum says:

    Oh my goodness! an incredible article dude. Thank you Still I am experiencing issue with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there any individual finding identical rss difficulty? Any person who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

    NFL Jerseys

Leave a Reply

