Light, delicious Southwestern omelet

I love black beans, salsa, eggs and cheese.  Now put them altogether and you get a light, delicious Southwestern omelet just perfect for a great breakfast, or in this case, breakfast for dinner.

I have stubbornly clung to making all my omelets with only whole eggs all these years fearing the loss of taste but this recipe dispels those fears.  The addition of cilantro added a nice flavor to the combination 4 egg whites and one whole egg.

The filling was a great combination of black beans, cheddar cheese, salsa and onions.  This omelet was great and easy to make.  Although I must admit that it did not come out looking as elegant as the one pictured in the December 2003 edition of The Best of Cooking Light Simple Suppers.

The other reason I really liked this recipe is that it was a serving size for 2.  At this point in our lives with only two of us and with our crazy schedules sometimes leftovers do not get used.  I have a real problem with wasting food so I am always on the hunt for recipes for two people.  Of course, I have become somewhat of an expert in cutting down recipes too.

Southwestern Omelet

2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro

¼ teaspoon salt

4 large egg whites

1 large egg

½ cup canned black beans, rinsed and drained

¼ cup chopped green onions

¼ cup (1 ounce) reduced-fat shredded cheddar cheese

¼ cup bottled salsa

Cooking spray

  1. Combine the first 4 ingredients in a medium bowl, stirring with a whisk.  Combine the beans, onions, cheese, and salsa in a medium bowl.
  2. Heat a medium nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium heat.  Pour egg mixture into pan; let egg mixture set slightly.  Tilt pan and carefully lift edges of omelet with a spatula, allow uncooked portion to flow underneath cooked portion.  Cook 3 minutes, flip omelet.  Spoon bean mixture onto half of the omelet.  Carefully loosen omelet with a spatula, fold in half.  Cook 1 minute or until cheese melts.  Slide omelet onto a plate; cut in half.

Calories 181(27% from fat); Fat 5.5g (sat 2.3g, mono 1g, poly 0.8g); Protein 20.2g; Carbohydrates 13.8g; Fiber 6g; Cholesterol 116mg; Iron 2.1mg; Sodium 822mg; Calcium 184mg.

When it came time to plate the omelet I added sliced tomatoes and a small bowl of additional salsa.  Yes, I know the last three meals I served sliced tomatoes but I do love tomatoes and look for any occasion to serve them.

What is really funny is that as a child I could not stand to look at tomatoes and had a real hard time eating them.  I would look down at my plate and all I could see was, what I thought of as slime, and seeds, and in my very young and impressionable mind tomatoes were going to grow in my stomach.  Yes, I know weird, right?  I would set about cleaning my tomatoes until all that was left was an empty wheel. I was a young adult before I finally ate all of the tomato and now they are one of my favorite fruits (or vegetables depending on how it is used).

I can always tell when Randy really likes something because he will stop what he is doing and make a comment.  After only a few bites Randy said, “This is really good”.  Ah, yes, success!

Tomorrow I will be making my last minute preparations for Thanksgiving dinner.  Nine of our wonderful friends and neighbors will be joining us for dinner each bringing favorite dishes to share.  I will be preparing two new turkey recipes, mash potatoes and a new dessert, all of which I will share after our wonderful holiday meal.  I will try to coax our friends into sharing their favorites too.

Kristine and I would like to take this opportunity to wish all of our readers and the many bloggers who have stopped by and ‘Like’ our blog site a very —

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in black beand, cheese, Food, omelet, Recipe, reduced-fat cheddar cheese, salsa and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Light, delicious Southwestern omelet

  1. Judy says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to all! I’ll have to try this omelette as I, too enjoy all these ingredients.

  2. Pattie Rogus says:

    Mary, since I love cilantro, and will try most any recipe calling for it, I’ll give this it a go. Bet I like it a bunch. Pattie R.

  3. Steve says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and Randy and Kristine, and everyone else in the family too! 🙂

    This recipe looks good, but I confess I’d probably stick to whole eggs. Bring on the Lipitor!

    • Hi, Steve–I know. I love whole eggs but I have been trying new low cal, healthy recipes in an attempt to mitigate the effects of all the wonderful holidays foods I will no doubt indulge in over the next two months. I see on facebook that you have published a new book of photographs. I haven’t seen it yet but will after the Thanksgiving holiday. I am expecting 9 for dinner and have been just a bit busy. Anyway, Happy Thanksgiving to you and Dave too!!!!!! Aunt Mary

  4. Pingback: Light, tasty Spaghetti Pie | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

