Light, tasty Spaghetti Pie

DSC00754b

As promised, I am back in the kitchen preparing light and healthy dishes to enjoy during the brief expanses of time between all our wonderful holidays.  At this point I am a little behind after being felled by a major muscle spasm in my hip/back that kept me out of the kitchen for a week.  Thank heavens for left-overs.

I mentioned that I spent a good bit of time going through my collection of Cooking Light and Weight Watchers recipe magazines looking for a variety of recipes, not necessarily to lose weight, but rather to keep in check my weight so I can enjoy all the wonderful holidays’ delights that I know I will be eating.

So far I have found, prepared and posted three recipes on this quest: Seared scallops with warm fruit salsa; Asiago-crusted pork chops; and Light, delicious Southwestern Omelet.

Monday I cooked a wonderfully light, tasty Spaghetti Pie that I found in the best of Cooking Light 2.

One thing that is always important to me is to find recipes that include ingredients that are easily found at my local grocery store.  This recipe does just that.

Spaghetti Pie

1 lb. ground round

¼ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon black pepper

2 (8-ounce) cans tomato sauce with garlic

1 ½ cups low-fat sour cream

1/2 cup chopped green onions

1/3 cup (2 ounces) 1/3-less-fat cream cheese, softened

4 cups hot cooked spaghetti (about 8 ounces uncooked pasta)

Cooking spray

1 1/3 cups (about 5 ounces) shredded reduced-fat extra-sharp cheddar cheese

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Cook meat in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat until browned, stirring to crumble.  Drain well, and return meat to pan.  Stir in salt, pepper, and tomato sauce.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer for 20 minutes.  Combine the sour cream, onions, and cream cheese in a small bowl, set aside.  Place spaghetti noodles in a 2-quart casserole dish coated with cooking spray.  Spread sour cream mixture over spaghetti noodles.  Top with meat mixture.  Sprinkle with cheddar cheese.  Cover and bake at 350° for 25 minutes.  Uncover; bake an additional 5 minutes or until cheese is bubbly.  Yield: 6 servings.

CALORIES 408(30% from fat); FAT 13.7g(sat 7.3g, mono 4.2g, poly 0.8g); PROTIEN 28.4g; Carb 39.9g, FIBER 2.9g;  CHOL 67mg; Iron 3.4mg; SODIUM 849mg; CALC 376mg.

DSC00756

I finished the dinner off with a simple salad of lettuce, tomatoes and red bell pepper with a light salad dressing.  This dish was light, tasty, filling.  This dish also reheats a few days later just right.  Randy and I decided that this recipe was a keeper.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in 1/3 less fat cream cheese, Cookbook, Cooking Light, Food, lean ground beef, Recipe, sour cream, spaghetti sauce, tomato sauce with garlic and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Light, tasty Spaghetti Pie

  1. M.L. says:

    Hope your hip and back are healing, bet you are so gald that they did not act up at Thanksgiving. Spaghetti pie looks great and just the right comfort food for recuperation. Get well soon.

    • Hi, Mary–Yes, just the right comfort food indeed! Yes, my hip/back are healing nicely but just in case I will be taking meds with me when we travel north for the holidays. Thanks for stopping by and leaving some words. Mary6

  2. this is a new low fat twist on something I made years ago……Glad to hear you are better.

    • Hi, Jane–I know. I have always made a twice-baked pasta dish over the years but it is loaded with yummy, but high fat cheese. Perhaps this winter I will work on toning it down. Thanks for the good wishes. Mary

  3. Randy says:

    It was nice enjoying this delicious dinner on our Lanai just before the sun went down.

  4. Paula McMahon says:

    Can’t wait to try this. Reading the recipe made me hungry! Thanks.

  5. cooking says:

    Thanks for some other fantastic article. The place else may anyone get that kind of info in such a perfect manner of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m at the look for such information.

  6. Pingback: Basketball, Brackets and Beef Burgundy | The Delicious Divas

  7. Nice post. I used to be checking continuously this blog and I am inspired!
    Very helpful information specifically the closing part 🙂 I take care of such info much.
    I used to be seeking this particular information for a long time.
    Thank you and best of luck.

  8. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.
    I am quite sure I will learn plenty of new stuff right here!
    Good luck ffor the next!

  9. What i do not realize is if truth be told how you’re not actually a lot more neatly-preferred than you may be now.
    You are very intelligent. You recognize therefore significantly with regards to
    this subject, made me for my part imagine it from
    a lot of varied angles. Its like men and women are not interested until
    it is one thing to do with Lady gaga! Your individual
    stuffs excellent. Always care for it up!

Leave a Reply

