A ‘Wow’ Sunday dinner

DSC00773b

So far, in my search for new, lighter recipes during the holiday season, I have prepared a seafood, pork chop, vegetarian and pasta dish.  Three of the dishes made it into my ‘keeper’ file.

It was time to prepare a beef recipe.  The recipe I chose I had actually pulled a long time ago and put into a very large stack of other ‘pulled’ recipes.  I had to start pulling pages because my pile of food magazines was becoming obscene.  The Rosemary-Merlot Flank Steak recipe appeared in the September 2003 issue of Cooking Light.  I prepared this recipe several times over the years and thought it would be a perfect Sunday dinner for my project.

This recipe is quite easy.  As the recipe recommended, I prepared the marinade the day before and let it sit fusing all the flavors together.  I also prepared the garlic-roasted new potatoes that appeared along with the steak recipe.  I prepared the potatoes while the steak was marinating making total preparation and cooking time just over 30 minutes.

Rosemary-Merlot Flank Steak

1 cup finely chopped onion

¾ cup low-salt beef broth

¾ cup Merlot or other dry red wine

1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary

½ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon dried Italian seasoning

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 (1-pound) flank steak, trimmed

Cooking spray

1 tablespoon tomato paste

2 teaspoons Dijon mustard

  1. Preheat grill or broiler
  2. Combine first 7 ingredients in a large zip-top plastic bag.  Add steak; seal bag.  Marinate in refrigerator 20 minutes, turning once.  Remove steak from bag, reserving marinade.
  3. Place steak on grill rack or broiler pan coated with cooking spray, cook 6 minutes on each side or until desired degree of doneness.  Let stand 5 minutes.  Cut steak diagonally across the grain into thin slices, keep warm.
  4. White steak cooks, combine reserved marinade, tomato paste, and mustard in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat, stirring well with a whisk.  Bring to a boil, and cook until reduced to 1 cup (about 7 minutes).  Serve the sauce with steak.  Yield 4 servings.

CALORIES 203 (39% from fat); FAT 8.8g (sat 3.6g, mono 3.5g, poly 0.5g); PROTEIN 23.8g; CARB 6.1g; FIBER 1.1g; CHOL 54mg; IRON 2.7mg; SODIUM 445mg; CALC 32mg.

Garlic-roasted new potatoes

Combine 1 tablespoon olive oil, ½ teaspoon salt, ¼ teaspoon dried Italian seasoning, ¼ teaspoon paprika, ¼ teaspoon black pepper, 4 minced garlic cloves, and 1 ½ pounds quartered small red potatoes on a jelly roll pan coated with cooking spray.  Bake at 500° for 25 minutes or until tender, stirring every 10 minutes.  (I tossed the potatoes well making sure all surfaces were coated).

DSC00771

I cooked the steak exactly 6 minutes on each side and it was perfectly pink inside.  The roasted potatoes cooked up perfectly too.

I decided to replicate the photo on the page and added a simple salad of mixed greens and ripe tomatoes.  I did not add any dressing choosing instead to enjoy the taste of the tomatoes unencumbered.

Now you know you’ve done well when you bring the plate to the dinner table and place it in front of your husband and the first word he says is, “Wow”.    Once again, the old culinary proverb, “You eat first with your eyes” proved to be so true.  It was obvious as I watched Randy eat his dinner he was enjoying every single bite.

Another reason I like this recipe is that is cooks up for 4 so I have just enough left over to make a second dinner using the meat as my foundation.  I will do that later in the week.

I mentioned that the intent of this project was to eat healthy between all the holidays so I could enjoy all the many wonderful holiday foods without worrying constantly about gaining weight.  I also wrote that I was not necessarily intending to lose weight, but maintain it.  Well,  thus far I have actually lost 3 ½ pounds.  Of course, I am doing more than eating healthy dinners.  I also committed to eating only three meals a day, no snacking between meals and staying away from daily sweets.

Oh, my the sacrifices we make to enjoy all the wonderful food delights during the holiday season.  And, trust me I intend to enjoy every holiday celebration to its fullest!!

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in beef, Cooking Light, flank steak, garlic-roasted new potatoes, Merlot, potatoes, Recipe, steak, wine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A ‘Wow’ Sunday dinner

  1. Deb aune says:

    This looks wonderful and easy to make.. I am going to try it

  2. Randy says:

    It is as good as it looks. The meat was very tender and the red skin potato’s turned out just right.
    YUMM. Looking forward to having it again.

Leave a Reply

