Christmas in Alabama—Peppermint Scones

DSC02712b

We spent today with Kara and the girls at their house, having lunch at a local restaurant and eventually enjoying a dip in the hotel’s pool.

DSC02693

First stop Kara’s house. Within a few moments of arriving Randy, Lauren and Fiona were playing with the kitty.  While they were busy I took the opportunity to ask Kara if she would share her peppermint scone recipe.  I was especially interested in learning if she had changed the recipe.

DSC02690

Two years ago Lauren had given us peppermint scones for Christmas and we enjoyed them.   Yesterday we enjoyed a snack of peppermint scones with fresh whipped cream and cups of hot coffee or hot chocolate .  From the very first bite I noticed that the scones tasted different.

Peppermint Scones—Kara Campbell

2 cups flour

2 Tablespoons sugar

1 Tablespoons baking power

½ teaspoon salt

3 crushed candy canes (about 1/3 cup)

6 Tablespoons butter (cold)

2 eggs (one in dough-one used to brush on top)

½ cup milk

  1. Preheat oven to 425º.  Lightly grease baking sheet.
  2. In large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  Cut in butter.  Mix the egg and milk in a small bowl, and stir into flour mixture until moistened.  Stir in crushed peppermint candy.
  3. Turn dough out onto lightly floured surface, and knead briefly.  Roll dough out into 1˝ thick round.  Cut with biscuit cutter and place on baking sheet.
  4. Bake at 425º for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown.

After writing down all the ingredients I said, “Now I know you put something different in the recipe it really did not taste the same”.

“Well, I decided to put 1 Tablespoon sugar and 1 Tablespoon of Agave for the sweetener this time,” Kara said.  She explained that this was her way of lessening the sugar content of the scones.  Kara launched into a discussion of what she believes the benefits of this sweetener is as opposed to refined sugar.  I do not use agave or read any information about it so I spent a little time this evening doing some research and it seems to me that there still exists some questions about its benefits.

While I understood her reasoning for using this substitute sweetener in the scones I told Kara that, for me, the addition of the agave changed the taste of the scones.  In an effort to convince me that it did not she placed a drop of the sweetener on my finger and invited me to taste.  As soon as I put it on my tongue I said, “That is what I tasted”.  I told Kara that the new scones were okay but I definitely preferred the original recipe.  That said, I did not turn down the package of peppermint scones she gave us to take back to Florida.

DSC02700

We were only going to be one more day and wanted to spend as much time with Kara and girls as we could.  So invited the Kara and the girls to lunch and then back to the hotel to take advantage of the inside heated pool.

DSC02701

Kara took us to a Mexican restaurant that she had recently visited and said it was very good.  The Guadalahara JaliscoMexican Restaurant menu was five pages long!  It took ten minutes just to read the menu and try to make a decision about what dish to order.   I decided to fall back on one of my favorite meals, two tacos, rice and beans.  Good choice.  I loved the cheese on the tacos and really enjoyed the rice with little pieces of carrots, peas and lima beans.   In between bites we had lively conversations about all manner of topics.  It was really great.

DSC02709

We finished lunch and drove over to the hotel where Randy, I, Kara and Lauren had a wonderful time swimming and spending time in the hot tub.  Fiona chose to sit quietly poolside and read a book.  Once we returned to the room Kara and Lauren showered and dressed and we returned to Kara’s to say our goodbyes.

It was albeit a short visit but one that was filled with good times and great memories.  Tomorrow we are back on the Interstate and heading back to Florida.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Food, Mexican food, peppermint scones, refried beans, restaurants, scones, tacos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Christmas in Alabama—Peppermint Scones

  1. mlseverson says:

    I love meeting your children and traveling with you two, it is like you are still here. And by the way Mary, no question who in the photos is your child, Kara and you are so alike it is amazing. Lucky Girl. Safe journey Happy New Year to Randy and you.

    • Hi, Mary–Thanks for stopping by and leaving some words. Yes, I know. All the girls have my eyes. Jennifer looks the most like her dad but I shine through very nicely thank you very much. Keep reading and have a Happy New Year!! Mary

  2. Connie says:

    Mary and Randy, Have a Happy New Year. Connie and Ron

    • Hi, Conne–Thanks for stopping by and leaving some words. Just a note to let you know that I did submit a picture for the Travel Club articles but the printers did not put it in. Hope you and Ron have a very Happy New Year!!! Mary

  3. Pingback: A ‘Sparkle and Shine Bright’ Christmas | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

