Celebrating the New Year on the Jewel of the Seas—Day 1

DSC02794

I have to start by saying that I cannot believe we actually made it to the cruise.  We left Florida on December 16th and drove to Virginia to visit with the children and grandchildren for the holidays.  December 26th we left Virginia and spent 14 ½ hours on the road making detours along the way to avoid snowy and icy conditions to get to Alabama to visit another daughter, Kara and granddaughters Fiona and Lauren.

After our visit in Alabama we spent another 12 ½ hours finally arriving home on Saturday, December 29th around 7:30pm.  We had just one day at home, just enough time to empty the suitcases, open the mail, pay the bills, repack and head out on Monday, December 31st to board the Royal Caribbean Jewel of the Seas for a New Year’s Eve cruise to Grand Cayman and Cozumel.

DSC02771

First stop on the ship was the Windjammer lounge for a quick and refreshing lunch of mixed greens, vegetables and lemonade.  It was time for us to take our customary walk around the ship to get our bearings.  The ship is beautiful!

DSC02784b

DSC02785

I was so excited to see that the ship was still decorated with a beautiful Christmas tree in the Centrum and garlands draped on the bannisters.  I made a mental note that I wanted to get a picture of Randy and I in front of the tree on our way to dinner.  We also noticed that way up hanging from the ceiling were two very large nets bulging with silver and black balloons. We surmised that they would be released at the stroke of midnight.

DSC02797b

It was New Year’s Eve so the dress code for the evening was semi-formal.  We entered the dining room and spied black top hats, feathery tiara’s, a silver beaded necklace and noise makers on each table.  As we approached the table a touch of sadness swept over me as I saw the two empty chairs at the table.   Our dear friends John and Lorraine were to accompany us on this trip but had to cancel a few weeks before the cruise because Lorraine needed surgery for a bad rotator cuff.  A few moments after we sat we were joined by a lovely couple, Jim and Erin. We learned that James and Erin live in Mt. Dora which is only about a 45 minute drive from our home.  It really is a small world!

DSC02808

DSC02803bDSC02805bThere was also a special menu for the evening.  There were so many wonderful choices but I finally chose the Double Beef consommé to start, Seasonal Winter Greens with toasted walnuts, shaved fennel and Champagne vinaigrette for my salad choice.  For the main dish I chose the Slow Roasted Beef Tenderloin with a Leek, tomato and blue cheese quiche and vegetables in a port wine reduction.  To end this perfect dinner I chose the Harlequin Soufflé with Bailey’s Irish Cream and coffee sauce.  Every bite was heavenly.

DSC02809

A very nice touch at the end of the meal was watching the entire dining room staff gather on the staircase Old Lang Syne and taking turns saying, “Happy New Year” in their respective languages.  Very nice, very nice!

After dinner we walked around a bit looking through the shops and made our way to the theatre where we caught the last few minutes of the “Welcome Aboard” show.  Unfortunately, Randy had developed a very bad headache and sore throat and was feeling quite miserable.  I convinced him into going back to the cabin, taking some medication and going to bed.  I assured him that I would stay up until the balloon drop and take pictures.

Now here is where it all went awry.  I had taken off my dress clothing and put on a robe and sat on the bed to watch television.  My next move did me in: I got a bit chilly and put my legs under the covers.  It was all over for me.   I fell asleep and did not wake until 7am the next day.

DSC02776

While a little disappointed we both had to laugh.  And, I must say there was a little part of my heart that sang as I thought that we could go again next year.  You see, this trip was actually Lorraine’s idea.  Celebrating New Year’s Eve on a cruise ship was a dream of Lorraines and an item on her ‘bucket list’.   So, we will make plans to go again next year and this time stay awake, see the balloon drop and watch the count-down clock usher in the New Year of 2014!!!!

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in beef, Celebrations, cruising, Food, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Celebrating the New Year on the Jewel of the Seas—Day 1

  1. Ellen says:

    Happy New Year….do you plan on renting your house since you’ve decided to take up crusing? I am so pleased you are enjoying life to the fullest. See you soon.

  2. Tina Montalbano says:

    Wow, you guys have just too much fun! Enjoy it…it’s all good!

  3. Randy says:

    Good food, great entertainment and a beautiful which I shared with my best friend….. Sorry I was sick for part of it.

  4. Sal says:

    Hi Mary and Randy,
    We are scheduled to cruise on the Jewel of the Seas on Mar. 2nd through the travel club. It looks like a nice ship……………the tenderloin looks delicious.
    Sal

  5. Erin LaVigne says:

    Mary & Randy: It was so nice meeting you and being your tablemates. Yes, it is a small world that we live so close to each other. We’re enjoying your blog Mary and the photos of our dinners in the MDR. We look forward reading the upcoming passages. Erin & Jim

  6. Mary says:

    Colloidal Silver is good to have on hand when traveling. It’s a natural nasal spray. It doesn’t allow viruses and bacteria to take hold. . . You get it at a health food store or even order it through amazon.

    • HI, Mary–Randy started developing this the day we left. We stopped at CVS and picked up lozenges and cough syrup just in case. They both came in handy. I will keep your suggestion in mind just in case for the future. Mary

  7. 4sUaqyNHrbc says:

    739126 334123I enjoy your composing style, do carry on creating! I is going to be back! 448721

  8. 660453 585397Hey! Do you use Twitter? Id like to follow you if that would be ok. Im surely enjoying your weblog and appear forward to new updates. 136924

  9. 872421 181226Fantastic post, Im searching forward to hear much more from you!! 693539

  10. 751521 185912Wow, awesome blog structure! How long have you been running a blog for? you created blogging look simple. The total look of your website is fantastic, let alone the content material! 772026

    • Hello, Thanks for stopping by, reading and leaving some words. I have been posting since May 2010. I write about food, restaurants and travels. I enjoy them all. Keep reading. Mary

  11. read more says:

    269815 589929Hello! I would wish to supply a large thumbs up for your excellent info you could have here about this post. Ill be coming back to your blog site for further soon. 628553

  12. 233238 311009I feel other site owners need to take this site as an model, really clean and superb user genial style and style . 282242

  13. 64498 293583Oh my goodness! a amazing post dude. Thanks a good deal Nevertheless I is going to be experiencing trouble with ur rss . Dont know why Not able to sign up for it. Is there every person acquiring identical rss concern? Anybody who knows kindly respond. Thnkx 803310

  14. 453620 750107Wow, incredible weblog structure! How long have you been running a blog for? you made running a blog look simple. The whole look of your website is magnificent, neatly as the content material! 70114

  15. 166595 210077This post post made me think. I will write something about this on my blog. 767089

  16. 249005 151372I genuinely prize your work , Fantastic post. 274100

  17. 124399 280455Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this web site with us so I came to appear it more than. Im undoubtedly enjoying the details. Im book-marking and will likely be tweeting this to my followers! Outstanding weblog and superb style and style. 956772

  18. 331007 66285Hey! Fine post! Please keep us posted when I can see a follow up! 705288

  19. weiter says:

    990131 296042I like this weblog its a master peace ! Glad I observed this on google . 796818

  20. Inkasso ABC says:

    773040 824051Wow, incredible weblog structure! How lengthy have you ever been blogging for? you created running a weblog appear straightforward. The full appear of your web site is wonderful, properly the content material! 157131

  21. Hey there, You’ve done a great job. I’ll definitely digg it
    and in my view suggest to my friends. I am sure they
    will be benefited from this site. Have more Traffic by means of twitter followers for the Page successful means.

    free followers on facebook Secure and straightforward
    from The largest facebook endorsements supplier.
    You may free twitter followers via multiple retailers at cost-effective costs.

  22. Very intresting tips. Thanks for sharing

  23. Pingback: Misty start to our cruise on the Serenade of the Seas | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

