Party time Chili Dip

DSC01051b

Tonight is Men’s College Basketball NCAA tournament’s ‘Selection Sunday’ on CBS.  I will be sitting on my couch at 6pm, with bracket in hand, listening intently to the commentators as I try to decide which teams I believe will make it to the Final Four and beyond.

Now you would think sitting on a couch, listening to the television and marking up a piece of paper would be simple.  Not if you are competing with a daughter who is a true devotee of college basketball.  I hang on every word that is said during the CBS broadcast, tune into ESPN, and then, I do further research on the internet.  I do this all in an effort to, at least, not embarass Kristine with my picks.  We have been spending the first weekend of March Madness together for several years , and it is a blast!

We spend a long weekend watching a great deal of basketball, commenting the entire time, holding our breaths when a team is just plain not playing the way we think they should, compare our brackets, and just having a great deal of fun.  Sometimes we watch in the comfort of her living room, sometimes we go to our favorite watering hole, TheBungalow Sports Grill at Shirlington Village, and watch the games on a big screen.

We eat a great deal of food over the weekend.  Kristine is very conscious about eating foods that are good tasting as well as good for you.  Just before Super Bowl Sunday she sent along a recipe that she found and said that it was, “AMAZING”.  I decided to make this dish for Super Bowl Sunday and she was right it was great.  I sent some over to our friends Bob and Sandy.  Sandy  called and said, “Oh, boy, this is really good”.

Chili Party Dip-Weight Watchers

15 oz. canned, turkey chili (without beans)

½ cup fat-free cream cheese

4 oz. can jalapeños, drained and chopped

1 small uncooked white onion

½ teaspoon tabasco sauce

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and set over medium heat.  Cook, stirring frequently until well-combined, and heated through, about 7 minutes.  Yield ½ cup per serving.  You can garnish with fresh, chopped jalapeno peppers.

Note: I used Hormel turkey chili with beans and heated for 10 minutes.

I had to laugh yesterday when I went to the mailbox.  I found a large envelope from, friend and follower of the Delicious Divas, Lana Halpern, and laughed out loud when I saw what was in the package.  Lana had sent me a copy of the book,  “Chili Madness” by Jane Butel.  This time of the year I do post several chili recipes.  She wrote, “After I saw your blog on Chili, I thought you would like this for your collection”.   Within a few minutes of browsing I found several recipes that sound really scrumptious.  So, yes Lana, I love having this new cookbook as part of my collection.

You may want to try my Chili Con Queso Supreme dip too.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Cookbook, dip, Event, Food, jalapenos, turkey chili dip and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Party time Chili Dip

  1. Randy says:

    Try it you will like it…….

  2. Bob and Sandy says:

    Mmmmmmmmmm.

  3. Mary says:

    Can’t wait to try them, they both sound and look delicious! Thanks

Leave a Reply

