Breaking bread with friends

Lunch  at Carlyle Grand Cafe with friends..(from left) Maureen, me, Carol and Lois.

Lunch at Carlyle Grand Cafe with friends . (from left) Maureen, me, Carol and Lois.

My last two days in Virginia were filled with catching up with old friends , making new ones, and participating in a 5k walk to bring awareness to colon cancer.

Saturday Kristine had to go to work so I made plans to meet three friends, Maureen, Lois and Carol, for lunch at Shirlington Village.

There are many restaurant choices at Shirlington Village and after a bit of discussion we decided to eat lunch at the Carlyle Grand Cafe.  The atmosphere at the cafe is inviting, the service is great, the prices reasonable, and the food is always delicious.   After two days of eating rather large portions of food I decided to order a small appetizer and salad.

I love our lunches.  I love catching up on each other’s lives, reminiscing about good times gone by, and talking about future plans.  We share stories about work, retirement, children, travel and whatever else pops into our heads.  We spent a great deal of time talking about Maureen’s daughter’s wedding coming up in May.  It always seems that we just get started and then it is time to leave promising each other that we will get together the next time I come to town.

DSC03452

Hanging out at the Bungalow with (from left) James, Scott and Kristine.

After lunch we all walked down to the Bungalow to say, “Hello” to Kristine before the ladies had to leave.  Then I settled in until Kristine got off work.  I sat at the bar and met two delightful gentlemen who are regulars at the Bungalow.  The conversations were lively, fun, and eventually very educational.  I learned that James had worked at the same company, Sam Goody, that Kristine did some years ago, but at another location.  And, as the afternoon wore on Kristine and I both learned that Scott actually lived in the same development wie lived in while Kristine was growing up.  Greenbriar has two elementary schools, Greenbriar West and Greenbriar East.  She went to West and Scott went to East.  We all laughed and agreed that it was indeed a very small world.

Getting ready for our 5k. (from left) Wes (with Brooks), Susan (with Garrison), me, Inna (with Elise) and Kristine.

Getting ready for our 5k. (from left) Wes (with Brooks), Susan (with Garrison), me, Inna (with Elise) and Kristine.

Sunday, Kristine and I were up early because we were participating in the  Scope It Out 5k run/walk for colon cancer awareness in Washington, D.C.  We were taking part in the walk because as Kristine explained in a recent post on Facebook, “My best friend Susan of 26 years is a colon cancer patient, fabulous mother, wife and daughter. She’s quite the fighter and has been through chemo and now undergoing radiation treatments to beat the disease. I’m so grateful to have her in my life that I’m participating in this 5k to raise funds and awareness to help her and others going through the same situation”.

It was so cold that morning.  I looked like the Pillsbury Dough Boy I had so many layers on, but I was warm.  After the walk we decided to go to Clyde’s for brunch.  What a great choice.  I ordered what I thought would be just a simple breakfast of eggs, bacon, home fries and toast and received what I thought of as a banquet.  There was enough food for two people on my plate.  But, I have to say, after walking in the 5k, I ate every bite of this delicious breakfast.

My favorite part of the brunch was being entertained and entertaining Susan and Wes’ ten month old son, Brooks and watching the girls, Garrison and Elise, having fun while the grownups talked.

Fully sated, Kristine and I returned home to settle in for our last night together and watch some basketball.  We both turned in early as she had to go to work the next day and I was catching a plane to return to Florida.  I was so excited when I woke up the next morning to a sky filled with white, fluffy snow.   All I could think was: What a great way to end a fun visit.

DSC03491

View from Kristine’s kitchen window.

I love my visits north, especially my March Madness visits with Kristine.  The long weekend is filled with good conversations, good friends, good times, exciting basketball, and great food.  By the end of the weekend Kristine was #2 and I was #10 in a pool of 52.  Not too bad.  But, it was time to return to my husband and friends back home.  And, after a few days, back into the kitchen.

Kristine's beautiful kitty, Elle.

Kristine’s beautiful kitty, Elle.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Appetizer, breakfast, Food, salad and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Breaking bread with friends

  1. Genny says:

    I’m going to ask a silly question, knowing you don’t likely have the answer, but I’ll ask anyway: Is that a Witch Hazel tree outside Kristine’s kitchen window???

  2. Genny says:

    Me again. I also wanted to ask how you fared in the 5k walk?

    • Hi, Genny, I did really well. Fortunately, three of the walkers brought their children along in strollers so our walk was more like a stroll making it very comfortable for me. The walk that should have taken me about 43 minutes actually took 1hr 11minutes and 57 seconds. By the time we walked to a restaurant for brunch, back and forth to our car to get our purses, Kristine and I actually walked just under 5 miles. It really was a wonderful day. Mary

  3. Connie says:

    it is always great to catch up with friends. Ron and I run from one end of the state of IL to the other. Always good to see everyone. Good to see you are having such a great time.

  4. I wanna say thanks for posting this correct information. Keep up this great job. I’ll subscribe to your weblog also. thnx!

  5. I’m interested and also enthusiastic about what you will be writing about here.

Leave a Reply

