Light, delicious Croque Monsieur

DSC03532

I absolutely loved this wonderful, light, crunchy ham and grilled cheese delight.  I discovered the recipe in the 2003 edition of  “the best of Cooking Light 4”.

According to the write-up in the magazine, their version of this classic French grilled ham and cheese sandwich is, “more like stuffed French toast than a sandwich”.

No matter what you call it, it is just the dish to have on a hot afternoon or evening.  I decided to make this recipe one hot Sunday for an early dinner.  I added a simple salad of field greens, baby spinach, sweet red peppers, vine-ripened tomatoes and julienne carrots.

Croque Monsieur

4 (1 ½ ounce) slices French bread

4 teaspoons honey mustard

6 ounces reduced-fat deli ham, thinly sliced

4 (1 ounce) slices reduced-fat Swiss cheese

½ cup fat-free milk

3 large egg whites

Cooking spray

  1. Cut a slit in each bread slice to form a pocket.  Spread 1 teaspoon honey mustard into each bread pocket.  Divide ham and cheese evenly among bread pockets.
  2. Combine milk and egg whites in a shallow bowl, stirring with a whisk.  Dip sandwiches, 1 at a time, in milk mixture, turning to coat.
  3. Heat a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat.  Add 2 sandwiches, and cook them 3 minutes on each side or until golden brown.  Repeat the procedure with the remaining sandwiches.  Yield: 4 servings.

Nutritional information:

CALORIES 293 (30% from fat); FAT 9.8g (sat 5.2g, mono 0.8g, poly 0.8g); PROTEIN 22.3g; CARB 27.9g; FIBER 1.3g; CHOL 40mg; IRON 1.6mg; SODIUM 649mg: CALC 475mg.

I loved this recipe because it was easy, all ingredients were readily available and, most of all, delicious.  I loved the ‘crunch’ of the French bread with the warm ham and cheese nestled inside, and the sweetness of the honey mustard.  I especially loved that on a hot day I was in and out of the kitchen in short order and enjoying this light, tasty meal on my lanai.

I used Boar’s Head Tavern ham and Baby Swiss cheese for this recipe.  I use Boar’s Head meats and cheeses exclusively because they contain no fillers, by-products, artificial colors, flavors, trans fat or gluten.  I like the philosophy of this family owned business  about their products:  We don’t put anything in our products that you wouldn’t put on your own table.  But in the end, the reason I prefer their meats and cheeses is because they just taste good!

One hot spring or summer day try this recipe, I think you will like it.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in cheese, Croque Monsieur, French cuisine, grilled ham and cheese, ham and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Light, delicious Croque Monsieur

  1. Randy says:

    Makes my taste buds explode just reading this.

  2. Since I don’t eat ham anymore, wondering if I could use turkey instead without alterning the taste too much…

  3. Hello divas!
    This is a very nice blog! You have some very nice recipes here along some good food reviews so all the right ingredients for a top culinary blog! I believe I could help to increase your readership and give you and your blog more deserved exposure if you are interested?
    I am searching for passionate writers to join our community of bloggers – glipho.com
    Please check us out and drop me a line at hubert@glipho.com for any questions.
    Best!
    Hubert

Leave a Reply

