Delicious Divas celebrates anniversary with Boston Cream Pie!

DSC03915b

Today is the third anniversary of the Delicious Divas sharing favorite recipes, experiences at our favorite restaurants and taking you on many of the cruises and motorcycle trips we have taken.  On May 11, 2010 we posted a welcome to our site and then Kristine shared a crazy and funny experience she had making meatballs called “Exploding Meatballs”.   My first contribution to this fun project was a Tyler Florence pasta recipe that I continue to make to this day.

I wanted to make and share one of my favorite recipes on this special occasion and chose one that my family has loved for thirty-five years.  I found this recipe in my 1969 Betty Crocker’s Cookbook.  If you see the condition of this book you would know that it was a well-loved member of my cookbook collection.  The spine is gone, the book is held together literally by threads and the pages are yellow and stained.  If someone walked into my kitchen today they would know that this cookbook is well loved.

This wonderful dessert became one of the one that my family insisted that if I made one to take to an event I had to make a second to keep at home.  There were quite a few recipes of all types that fell into this category.

There are three processes to make this cake.  Yes, I know it is called a pie but trust me it is a cake.  The three processes include making a cake, the filling and the chocolate topping. This wonderful confection was created by Armenian-French chef M. Sanzian at Boston’s Parker House Hotel in 1856.  Since the first one was created it has become the official dessert of Massachusetts in 1996.

DSC03942cBoston Cream Pie

Cake

1 ¼ cups flour

1 cup sugar

1 ½ teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

¾ cup milk

1/3 cup shortening*

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

Heat oven to 350°.  Grease and flour cake pan*.  Measure all ingredients into large mixing bowl.  Blend ½ minute on slow speed, scraping bowl.  Beat 3 minutes high speed, scraping bowl occasionally.  Pour into pan.

Bake 35 to 40 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.  Cool.

*I used 1/3 tablespoons butter.

**I used an 8x8x2 round cake pan.

Filling

1/3 cup sugar

2 Tablespoons cornstarch

1/3 teaspoon salt

1 ½ cups milk

2 egg yolks, slightly beaten

2 teaspoons vanilla

Blend sugar, cornstarch and salt in medium saucepan.  Combine milk and egg yolks; gradually stir into sugar mixture.  Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens and boils.  Boil and stir 1 minute.  Remove from heat; stir in vanilla.  Cool to room temperature.

After cake has cooled slice in half so as to make two layers.  Pour filling onto bottom half of cake then place top layer back on.

Chocolate frosting

Melt 2 ounces unsweetened chocolate and 3 tablespoons butter or margarine over low heat.  Remove from heat; stir in 1 cup confectioners’ sugar and ¾ teaspoon vanilla.  Mix in about 2 tablespoons hot water, 1 teaspoon at a time, until glaze is proper consistency.  Pour over top of cake.  Chill

The cake is light, the filling is creamy and the chocolate frosting is like a wonderful candy bar.  I love it, my family loves it and every guest that has graced my dinner table loved it.

Here’s to three fun years and many more fun years to come!!

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Boston Cream Pie, cake, Celebrations, Chocolate, Chocolate frosting, Cookbook, cornstarch pudding, Dessert, frosting, Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Delicious Divas celebrates anniversary with Boston Cream Pie!

  1. Randy says:

    MMMMMMMMMMM good……….

  2. Lana says:

    The cake looks beautiful and I miss you,
    Lana

  3. dee manin says:

    that was my favorite cake….and many people requested I make it at the bakery…….yummy dee

  4. Ellen says:

    Mary, that has always been my favorite cake, could it be growing up in New England, who knows but when ever its available I have to have some. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Barbara Bracebridge says:

    Thanks for sharing this recipe. It’s Bruce’s favorite and we always have one to celebrate his birthday. Maybe next year I’ll bake it myself instead of buying one from the bakery.

  6. Robyn says:

    Congratulations on 3 years of baking, cooking and blogging! I read your blogs religiously and refer back to them often as I’m always looking for good recipes! Keep it going, will ya?!!!

  7. Bob and Sandy says:

    Mary, each time you make this cake, it gets better. We had yummy’s in our tummy’s last night. You are the greatest? HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!!!!!!

  8. enter site says:

    I view something truly interesting about your site so I saved to fav.

  9. Genny says:

    Bill’s mom used to make this cake for Bill ’cause it’s one of his favorites. Maybe I’ll have to try making your recipe sometime. Happy Blogging Anniversary!

    • Hi, Genny–It is a great celebration cake. I used it for birthdays, anniversaries and “isn’t a lovely” day celebrations. Just yummy no matter what you are celebrating. Mary

  10. Good post! We are linking to this great article on our website. Keep up the good writing.

  11. Pingback: Yummy White Chili | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

