One pork tenderloin, two delicious meals

DSC03965

I loved this recipe.  I came across it in the December 2003 edition of The Best of Cooking Light Simple SuppersIt was simple to prepare, did not take very long on the grill and, best of all, it tasted great.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin with Apple-Ginger Sauce

¾ cup apple jelly

2 tablespoons minced peeled fresh ginger

2 tablespoons cider vinegar

½ teaspoon salt

½ to 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper

½ teaspoon black pepper

2 garlic cloves, peeled

1 (1-pound) pork tenderloin trimmed

Cooking spray

  1. Prepare grill.
  2. Place first 7 ingredients in a blender or food processor; process until smooth.
  3. Insert a meat thermometer into thickest portion of pork.  Place pork on grill rack coated with cooking spray; grill 16 minutes or until a thermometer registers 160° (slightly pink), turn pork occasionally.  Place pork on a platter, and let stand 5 minutes.  Serve pork with sauce.  Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 4 ounces pork and ¼ cup sauce).

Suggestion:  Serve with couscous or rice to soak up the spicy-sweet sauce.  Try peach or apricot jelly to vary the flavor of the sauce.

CALORIES 290 (11% from fat); FAT 3.3g (sat 1g, mono 1.4g, poly 0.6g); PROTEIN 24.2g; CARB 41.5g; Fiber 0.5g; CHOL 74mg; IRON 1.8mg; SODIUM 370mg; CALC 18mg.

The meat actually took 23 minutes to reach 160° on my grill.  The meat was just a little pink in the center, tender and wonderfully juicy.  I loved the sauce.  The coolness of the apple jelly and ginger mixed with crushed red pepper was a delight.

The recipe suggests using couscous or rice to soak up the sauce.  However, I had a few red skinned potatoes that needed to be used so I boiled them a just put a little salt, pepper and just a little I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter.  I must tell you that the sauce tasted really good with the potatoes too.

At the end of the meal I still had a half of the pork tenderloin left over.  As we were eating dinner I thought of another way I could use the pork the next evening for dinner.

DSC03971b

When we moved down here I called an old friend who had also moved to Florida after retirement and as we talked she asked, “Have you tried the Cuban bread yet”.  I said I had not and she encouraged me to get one and make a Cuban sandwich.  Bonnie also gave me a list of the basic ingredients of a Cuban sandwich.  I loved the sandwich have been making them ever since.

Cuban sandwich-Mary

1 Cuban bread

½ lb. pork tenderloin sliced

½ lb. ham sliced

¼ lb. provolone cheese sliced

Kosher dill pickles

Yellow mustard and mayonnaise

I cut two pieces of Cuban bread about 6” long and sliced almost open.  I spread yellow mustard on one side of the bread and mayonnaise on the the other side of the bread.  Then I layered slices of the pork tenderloin, ham, provolone cheese, and sliced Kosher dill pickles.

I sprayed a little Pam into a non-stick pan and heated the sandwich until the cheese melted pressing hard with a spatula.  The end result was a wonderfully crusty sandwich on the outside filled with warm meat, melted cheese and crunchy pickles.  Wonderful!

I have had Cuban sandwiches over the years in several restaurants and they are always just a little different.  The sandwiches were sometimes made with different breads and sometimes different spreads, but always good.

I stopped by the market that day and picked up sweet, tender, white corn on the cob that virtually melted in our mouths.

Both dinners were great.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Apple-ginger sauce, Cuban bread, Cuban sandwich, pork tenderloin, Recipe, sandwiches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One pork tenderloin, two delicious meals

  1. Randy says:

    Great meal and great use of leftovers……

  2. Rachelle says:

    It is not my first time to visit this site, i am
    browsing this web page dailly and take nice information from here every
    day.

  3. Tina says:

    Great recipes, Mary. Made copies of both for future use. Keep ’em coming.

    Tina

  4. I think this is one of the most significant information for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general things, The web site style is perfect, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

  5. I am nonetheless learning from you, as I’m attempting to attain my goals. I absolutely liked studying everything that is posted in your blog.Keep the aarticles coming. I enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

