Strawberry Shortcake-Jelly Roll

DSC03989b

I love this light, sweet, strawberry filled dessert!   I found this recipe in the 1972 edition of Betty Crocker’s Cookbook and have made it every summer since that time.  Actually, I make this delightful dessert all through the summer.  It is easy to make and makes a wonderful dessert for family and guests.  It became so popular with my daugher Kristine that she asked for this cake for her birthday many times over the years and her birthday is in the winter.

Strawberry Shortcake-Jelly Roll

3 eggs

1 cup granulated sugar

¾ cup flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

¼ teaspoon salt

1/3 cup water

1 teaspoon vanilla

Confectioners’ sugar

Filling:

2 cups Strawberries (sliced)

1/2 cup heavy whipping cream

2 tablespoons Confectioners’ sugar

  1. Heat oven to 375°.  Line jelly roll pan, 15 ½ x 10 1/2x 1 inch, with aluminum foil; grease.
  2. In small mixing bowl, beat eggs about 5 minutes or until very thick and lemon colored.  Pour eggs into large mixing bowl; gradually beat in sugar.  On low speed, blend in water and vanilla.  Gradually add flour, baking powder and salt, beating just until batter is smooth.  Pour into pan, spreading batter to corners.
  3. Bake 12 to 15 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.  Loosen cake from edges of pan; invert on towel sprinkled with confectioners’ sugar.  Carefully remove foil; trim of stiff edges if necessary.
  4. While hot, roll cake and towel from narrow end.  Cool on wire rack.  Unroll cake; remove towel.
  5. About 1 hour before serving, beat ½ cup chilled whipping cream and 2 tablespoons Confectioners’ sugar in chilled bowl until stiff.  Spread over unrolled cake.  Place sliced fresh strawberries over whipped cream.  Roll up; sprinkle with Confectioners’ sugar.  Chill.  Serve with sweetened whipped cream.

DSC03982

I put a great deal of strawberries on the cake.  It makes it interesting to roll but it works.  I have also made this dessert the night before and that works too.

DSC03991b

Just before I serve, I whip additional whipped cream and slice a few more strawberries to place on the dessert plate.

This easy, delicious cake makes a wonderful presentation.  I sprinkle the top of the cake with Confectioners’ sugar and then cut strawberries to place on top.  Your friends and family will think you spent hours and hours in the kitchen.  Shhh!  I won’t tell if you don’t.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Betty Crocker, cake, Dessert, strawberries, sweet whipped cream and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Strawberry Shortcake-Jelly Roll

  1. Randy says:

    Just sampled it and it is to die for…….Plus I got to lick the beaters.

  2. Dee manin says:

    Forgot what I did with the jelly roll recipe I had. So thanks I am going to try yours. Looks yummy and not too high in calories.. Dee

  3. Sandy and Bob Kessler says:

    Mary: This looks great. So light and fluffy and yummy. You go girl.

  4. ipad delhi says:

    You can definitely see your enthusiasm in the work you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. Always go after your heart.

  5. hanh says:

    Hi Mary, I was wondering if I could make the cake on Friday night if I need the cake for a Saturday lunch? Would the whipped cream hold up okay? I am scared that it would melt, or get the cake soggy? Please advise, and thank you for sharing your recipe!

    • Hello Hanh,

      Yes, I have made this cake many times the night before and it was quite alright the next day. I think the confectioner’s sugar keeps the cream from getting soggy. Not sure, but I have had no trouble. Enjoy, Mary

      • Hello again, Hanh,

        It goes without saying that anything that is made the day of an event is always freshest. But, as I wrote earlier, I have made this the night before an it was fine. After finishing the shortcake, I wrapped it in aluminum foil and placed in refrigerator for the evening. My apologies for not replying earlier but I have been sick the last few days. Let me know how your event goes. Mary

  6. Nice man thanks for sharing! Love your posts! Keep up the hard word brother!

Leave a Reply

