Turkey Monte-Cristo Sandwich

DSC03997c

After making a wonderful Herb Roasted Turkey Breast a few days ago, my attention turned to what to do with the leftover meat.  My favorite dish to make after roasting a turkey is an open-face turkey sandwich with mashed potatoes and gravy.  I love it, I love it, I love it.

But after some thought I decided to go back out to the Food Network and troll for a new way to use up my turkey.  After searching, I came across a recipe for Turkey Monte Cristo sandwiches and after reading the ingredients I knew it would be just perfect.

I already had most of the ingredients and only had to purchase a loaf of challah bread and smoked Gouda.  The recipe was easy to prepare and only required about 25 minutes from start to finish.

Turkey Monte Cristo Sandwich

Eight ½ inch thick slices challah bread or brioche

3 tablespoons Dijon mustard

6 ounces smoked Gouda cheese, shredded

12 ounces thinly sliced cooked turkey breast

Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

½ cup whole berry cranberry sauce or relish

3 large eggs

1/3 cup milk

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

  1. To make the sandwiches: Lay the bread on the work surface.  Spread one side of each slice with the mustard.  Spread half of the cheese on 4 slices of the bread.  Cover with half of the turkey and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Evenly spread the cranberry sauce/relish on the turkey on the sandwich.  Top with the remaining turkey; season with salt and pepper to taste, and cover with the remaining cheese and bread.  Press down slightly on each sandwich.
  2. In a lipped plate or dish, whisk together the eggs and milk, and season with salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Preheat the oven to 350°.  Heat 2 large skillets over medium-low heat; add a tablespoon of both butter and oil to each pan.  Dip and coat each of the sandwiches in the egg mixture and lay in the pans.  Cook until golden brown, about 4 minutes per side.  Transfer the sandwiches to a baking sheet and bake until the cheese is melted, about 6 to 8 minutes.

This recipe serves four so, of course, I cut the ingredients in half.  Be sure when you get ready to put the bread into the egg mixture to just “dip” the sandwich.  Do not soak the bread.

I loved the smoky flavor of the melted Gouda, the sweet/tart taste of the cranberries and the slight tanginess of the Dijon mustard.  I served the sandwiches with helpings of sweet potato fries.

There were so many flavors and textures making this sandwiches so, so good.  I liked the challah bread but I think next time I will make this recipe using either a brioche or a crusty French bread.  I plan to use the remaining challah bread to make French toast.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Challah bread, Food, Recipe, smoked Gouda cheese, turkey, Turkey Monte Cristo sandwich and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Turkey Monte-Cristo Sandwich

  1. Mary says:

    It sounds so delicious….next time make 4 and we will join you Delicious Diva!

  2. Pattie Rogus says:

    Mary, the Monte Cristo is one of my favorite sandwichs. I usually never order them at resturants because they deep fry them. This one not only sounds delicious, but with less oil. I will have to try it next time I have turkey breast. Thanks for the recipe. Pattie

  3. Judy says:

    Sounds yummy

  4. Randy says:

    Mouth watering….. delight…

  5. dee manin says:

    yum………we used to make it in thecafe but this seems easier…….must try it………..dee

  6. Genny says:

    Sounds delicious! Did you get your Challah from Too Jay’s?

  7. Pingback: Easy Turkey Divan | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

