Easy Turkey Divan

IMG_2127c

What happened to June?  I have been so busy with spring cleaning, making plans for our grandson to come visit in July, and traveling that I have completely lost track of days and weeks.  Thank goodness for leftovers and restaurants.  I am not a big fan of every day, routine cleaning but taking a rooms apart and putting it back together again is an activity I can really get my teeth into makes me a very happy person.  I approach spring cleaning very much the way I approach my love of cooking.

I will finally share the last recipe I prepared from the leftover turkey meat from the wonderful Herb-Roasted Turkey I prepared earlier in June.   Remember, I started with a wonderful roasted turkey breast. The first leftover I prepared was Turkey Monte Cristo Sandwiches that were just wonderful.  I first made this recipe way back in the 70’s.

One Thanksgiving after making turkey sandwiches for several days, I wanted to serve the turkey in a different way.  I had just gotten a new packet of recipe cards from The Betty Crocker Recipe Card Library that included a recipe for holiday leftovers.  I looked through the packet and found a recipe called, “Easy Turkey Divan”.  I read the ingredients and cooking directions and thought, now that sounds good and easy, and, it was.

Easy Turkey Divan

6 slices cooked turkey or 2 cups cut-up cooked turkey

2 packages (10 ounces each) frozen broccoli spears,

cooked and drained

6 slices process American or Cheddar cheese

1 can (13 ½ ounces) evaporated milk

1 can (10 ½ ounces) condensed cream of mushroom soup

1 can (3 ½ ounces) French fried onion rings

  1. Heat oven to 350°.
  2. Arrange turkey in ungreased baking dish, 11 ½ x 7 ½ x 1 ½ inches.  Top with hot broccoli; cover with cheese.
  3. Stir together milk and soup; pour over cheese.  Bake uncovered 25 minutes.  Sprinkle with onion rings and bake 5 minutes longer.  (4 to 6 servings).

I would share just a few thoughts.  One, I did use broccoli spears but looking back, I think florets would have been better.  Two, while looking through my canned soups I had both the cream of mushroom and cream of chicken soup in my hands.  I was in a hurry and inadvertently opened the cream of chicken soup.  I was not going to throw away a perfectly good can of soup, so, I used the cream of chicken and it was just fine.  I decided to use the Cheddar cheese because it has a sharper taste and would be a good contrast to the mellow taste of the soup.  And, because it was only the two of us, I used only one package of broccoli.  The recipe says it will serve 4-6.  Well, Randy and I enjoyed the meal so much; we each had two helpings finishing it off.

I continue to strive to make my older recipes a little healthier.  With that in mind, I used the heart healthy cream of chicken soup and 2% cheddar cheese.  If you have any good recipes that utilizes leftover turkey, send them along.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Food, Recipe, turkey, turkey divan, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easy Turkey Divan

  1. Randy says:

    Good way to use leftover turkey

Leave a Reply

