Chicken & Cheese Burritos

DSC01359b

After eight weeks of being out of the kitchen, I was very excited to finally make a recipe I read in the spring edition of Cuisine Lite.  I had developed a really bad cough that absolutely plagued me.  I could not sleep, my appetite was gone and when I did try to eat something, more often than not, I pushed it away.  Consequently, cooking was the last thing on my mind.  Sorry to say, we went out a great deal so Randy could at least eat a good meal.  But that was then and this is now.

I started feeling much better a few days ago and decided it was time to get back into the kitchen.  The first magazine I reached for was the Cuisine Lite.  Whenever I read a new cooking magazine for the first time, I put sticky notes on the pages I want to refer back to.  I have so many sticky notes in this magazine; I did not know where to start.

I am sure by now, many of you know that I love Mexican food so, I decided to make a burrito recipe from the “pack & go lunches” section.  Fortunately for me, I had all the ingredients already in the pantry and refrigerator.

Chicken & Cheese Burritos

2 tsp. extra-virgin olive oil

1 cup diced onions

1 Tbsp. minced garlic

1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed (15 88888888oz.)

2 cups shredded cooked chicken breast (12 oz.)

1 Tbsp. ground cumin

2 Roma tomatoes, diced

2 jalapeños, diced

1 Tbsp. minced lime zest

2 Tbsp. fresh lime juice

2 tsp. dried oregano

¼ tsp. kosher salt

¼ tsp. black pepper

6 whole-wheat tortillas (8-inch)

1 ½ cups shredded 2% Cheddar (6 oz.), divided

  1. Heat oil in a nonstick skillet over medium.  Add onion and garlic; sauté until softened, 2 minutes.  Stir in beans.
  2. Toss chicken with cumin to coat; add to skillet.  Stir in tomatoes, jalapeños, zest, lime juice, oregano, salt, and pepper.  Cook mixture until tomato and jalapeños soften slightly, 5-8 minutes.  Remove skillet from heat; let filling cool completely.
  3. Place tortillas flat on a counter.  Divide filling evenly among tortillas, placing about ¾ cup filling on each tortilla.  Top each tortilla with ¼ cup Cheddar.  Fold in two sides of one tortilla; bring the front of the tortilla (the side closest to you) over the filling.  Continue rolling and tucking in the filling until it’s completely enclosed.  Repeat with remaining tortillas.
  4. Wrap each burrito in to layers of plastic wrap.  Tightly seal wrapped tortillas inside freezer bags.  Freeze burritos as long as eight weeks.

TO REHEAT

Unwrap burrito and discard plastic wrap.  Place burrito on a microwave-safe plate.  Heat frozen burrito in a microwave until the filling is hot, 3-4 minutes.  Heat a thawed burrito in a microwave about 2 minutes.

Per serving: 367 calories; 9g total fat (3g sat, 4g mono, 2g poly); 39mg cholesterol; 751mg sodium; 41g carbohydrates (9g fiber, 5g total sugars); 30g protein; 4mg iron; 212mg calcium.

This recipe was so easy to make.  They are small but just right for, as they suggest lunch, but also perfect for a light dinner.  I liked the set-up of the magazine.  Beautiful pictures of the prepared food, recipes, directions and several step-by-step photos.

Randy does not like very spicy food and cannot tolerate too many onions.  Therefore, I changed a couple of ingredients as I went along.  I reduced the diced onions to ½ cup.  I switched out the jalapeños and used green chilies in their place.  The changes gave the burritos a milder taste.  I served with guacamole and sliced tomatoes.

Randy definitely liked the burritos as he said a few times between bites, “This is really good”.  I really liked them too.  We each ate one and froze the rest for another day.

I must say, it was really nice to be back in the kitchen again.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in beans, burritos, chicken, Cookbook, Cuisine Light, Food, green chiles, health, Recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Chicken & Cheese Burritos

  1. Randy says:

    I understand there are some in the freezer. I so look foreward to having them again!!!!

  2. Tina says:

    Welcome back! Glad you’re feeling better.

  3. Jane Setman says:

    I’m so sorry to hear that you were so sick. I’m glad you’re back. This recipe sou
    nds delicious.

  4. Bob and Sandy says:

    sure sounds yummy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. I’m typically to blogging i genuinely appreciate your articles. This short article has truly peaks my interest. Let me bookmark your web blog and retain checking for brand spanking new data.
    moncler down jacket women http://www.reba.net/CVS/monclerjackets.aspx?2

  6. Wow these look delicious, i love burritos and Mexican food, and always up for trying new recipes…

    Simon

Leave a Reply

