Enjoying a laid back day at sea

Arcadia Theatre

Arcadia Theatre

I love the quiet, laid-back days at sea.  We ordered room service and had a wonderful continental breakfast of sliced pineapple, strawberries, and red juicy grapes, thin slices of melon, kiwi, and coffee.  Then off to the pool deck to find a chair and settle in for the day.

I was involved in my fifth book in the Vince Flynn Mitch Rapp series and was anxious to get back to it.  We found the perfect chairs out of the sun and got comfortable.  We spent several hours relaxing and reading.  I decided take a stroll and see where everyone else was and what they were up to.

Day 6 poolside

I found Roger and Sheri relaxing in a hot tub, Cindy and Dave kicking back reading books in the Solarium area.  I came upon Jim and Vilma relaxing, eating an ice cream cone and reading.  Eventually, Lana and Barry walked by and we were able to secure two chairs for them giving Lana and I an opportunity to chat a while.

Today was the first we encountered rain.  Fortunately we were under cover and did not have to move.  The rain only last about two hours and then the skies cleared, the pool deck filled once again and the rest of the afternoon was sunny and beautiful.

DSC01452b

We were eating lunch poolside when the character King Julien from Madagascar strolled by and I jumped up for a photo opportunity.

DSC01205

Randy and I received an invitation to an event at Pharaoh’s Palace to hear the captain give a presentation about the cruise line, listen to a little music and enjoy cocktails and hors deouevers.   The event was very nice but we needed to make our way to the dining room to meet our friends.  On the way we ran into Shrek and Fiona.  Can you guess what I did?  Yes, Randy took a picture for me.

DSC01225

Dinner, a quick stop to take pictures, run back to the cabin to change clothes then off the theatre to see a production show called “Once Upon A Time”.  The show was wonderful.  As always, I was amazed at the ability of these talented singers and dancers to perform so well on a moving ship.  And, oh, the costume changes were incredible.  The show was based on fairy tales and were performed using music from the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s.  I loved it, we all did.

DSC01231

We decided to take a stroll around the promenade stopping at several shops.  Our last stop was the Café Promenade to get Randy’s cookies when we spotted Shrek and Fiona high above on a catwalk.  As I looked up, all I could think was, “What a fun place to be”.

DSC01233

Tomorrow is another day at sea and our last day together.

Enjoy

Mary

This entry was posted in cruising, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Enjoying a laid back day at sea

  1. Randy says:

    Just another wonderful day at sea relaxing…..

  2. Bob and Sandy says:

    fun for all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Free Cams says:

    Sweet blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thank you

  4. Google says:

    Sites of interest we’ve a link to.

Leave a Reply

