Heavenly Hawaii Cruise on the Star Princess-At sea day 2

Look at the color of that water!  View from our balcony

Look at the color of that water! View from our balcony

Our second full day at sea was a little warmer although the sky remained cloudy and the wind had picked up a bit.  After a quick breakfast we took a nice walk around the Promenade Deck then spent time on the pool deck reading.  I brought two books with me and was determined to finish both before returning home.

DSC01788

We noticed in the daily newsletter that there were numerous classes that revolved around the Hawaiian culture.  There were hula, ukulele and lei making classes.  The Scholarship@Sea also included a series of lectures by Hawaii Naturalist, Dr. Sharron Faff.  Dr. Faff is a retired park ranger at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.  Randy and I decided we would go to her lecture on “Gentle Giants of Hawaii”.

Randy enjoying waiting for me to get my daily coffee at the International Café.

Randy enjoying waiting for me to get my daily coffee at the International Café.

On our way to the lecture we stopped at the InternationalCafé for a wonderful White and White Chocolate Mocha to take to the theatre with us.  It was yummy.  During the morning hours the café offers bagels, donuts, croissants and other breakfast delights.  At lunch the café offers soup, salad and small sandwiches and wonderful petite desserts.  Randy’s favorite was the fresh baked cookies.

The wonderful Godiva and other delights shop at the Atrium

The wonderful Godiva and other delights shop at the Atrium

The café is located mid-ship on the deck 5 in the Atrium.  The Atrium is three decks high and is filled with bars, eateries, shops and plenty of places to sit and just enjoy.  There is music and other entertainment all during the day.

Beautiful iron work on the elevators that lead down to the Atrium

Beautiful iron work on the elevators that lead down to the Atrium

Dr. Faff talked about the Humpback Whales of Hawaii.  We both found her talk to be very informative aided by stills and video presentations of the whales in the natural habitat.  I know that everyone in theatre was anxious to see these wonderful mammals once we reached Hawaii.

DSC01789b

I asked Randy what he thought of the talk.

“I thought Dr. Faff presentation was extremely interesting.  She told us more about the life and procreation of the whales that I never realized happened.  I knew some things about the whaling industry and the damage it did to the whale population and it was good to hear that they are coming back,” Randy said.

After our photography class yesterday, and seeing Mark’s work in the Photography and Video gallery we made arrangements with Mark to have a sitting.  Mark does all black and white photography and uses shadows and light to enhance his subjects.  The sitting was fun.   I had such a great time, I laughed pretty much through the whole sitting.  I cannot wait to see how they turned out in a few days.

DSC01795b

We met Ron, Jane, Dolly and Karen at dinner and, once again, enjoyed a great meal and lively conversation.  Tonight was formal night so everyone was dressed up in the best.  All the meals to date have been wonderful.

Tomorrow is my birthday.  During the evening, we ran into our travel hosts, Lee and Diamond Bishop and Diamond’s daughter and son-in-law Crystal and Max Raney and learned that Diamond’s birthday was the same as mine.  We all agreed that we should celebrate and go to one of the specialty restaurants on board.  Decisions, decisions.  Diamond left the decision up to me and I agreed to call her as soon as I made up my mind.

After dinner, we made our way to the Vista Lounge to see comedian Derrick Cameron.  Without a doubt that was one of the best stand-up comedy routines I have seen in a very long time.  The time passed much too quickly, we were enjoying the show so much.  “He was hilarious.  I really liked that he did not use any nasty words,” Randy said as we were leaving the lounge.

I love celebrating my birthday on a cruise.  I chose the Crown Grill for our birthday dinner.  I am looking forward to enjoying a wonderful dinner with friends.

Enjoy,

Mary

 

This entry was posted in coffee, cruising, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Heavenly Hawaii Cruise on the Star Princess-At sea day 2

  1. Randy says:

    The international Cafe is a great place to get a chocolat donnut in the morning.

  2. DEE MANIN says:

    Happy Birthday Mary

  3. Connie says:

    Happy birthday Mary. From the pictures, the ship looked beautiful.

Leave a Reply

