Lite Pecan Pancakes

IMG_6972b

I love southern cooking.  I love Southern Living magazine.  Every recipe I have ever tried from a Southern Living magazine or their wonderful Christmas edition cookbooks have been deliciously wonderful.  So, when I was book shopping last December and came across a book titled, “Southern Living—The Slim Down South Cookbook” by Carolyn O’Neil, MS, RD,  I was very excited.

Ms. O’Neil teamed up with the editors of Southern Living, “To show that great tasting Southern foods can and do fit in with modern health and nutrition advice”.  I sat down one evening and read through the book and when I was done I realized I had bookmarked so many pages, I just knew I had to get cooking.

The first recipe I tried was the Pecan Pancakes.

Pecan Pancakes

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/3 cup finely chopped pecans or walnuts, toasted

1 tsp. granulated sugar

1 tsp. light brown sugar

½ tsp. baking powder

½ tsp ground cinnamon

¼ tsp. baking soda

1/8 tsp. table salt

1 cup nonfat buttermilk

2 Tbsp. vegetable oil

1 large egg

Vegetable cooking spray

  1. Stir together first 8 ingredients until well combined.
  2. Whisk together buttermilk, oil, and egg in a bowl; add to flour mixture, stirring just until dry ingredients are moistened.
  3. Pour about ¼ cup batter for each pancake onto a hot griddle or large skillet coated with vegetable cooking spray. Cook pancakes 2 to 3 minutes or until tops are covered with bubbles and edges look cooked. Turn and cook other sides. Serve immediately

Note: Mix the dry ingredients ahead to make breakfast quicker in the morning. Store the mix in an airtight container up to one week.  Makes 5 servings.

Serving size 2 pancakes. CALORIES 230 FAT 12.2g (sat 1.4g, mono 5.9g, poly 4.3g) PROTEIN 6.3g CARB 24.8g FIBER 1.5g CHOL 37.2mg IRON 1.6mg SODIUM 227mg CALC 102mg.

The pancakes were light, fluffy and had a wonderful nutty taste that Randy and I both loved.

I actually made these tasty pancakes for dinner. I find that all too often breakfast is a quick bowl of cereal, yogurt, maybe some fruit because we both have crazy morning schedules. I like to linger over my meals and so, breakfast for dinner was just perfect. A few slices of bacon, cold glasses of orange juice and a little fruit and voilà a wonderful meal at the end of a busy day.

Enjoy,

Mary

 

This entry was posted in Cookbook, Food, pancakes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lite Pecan Pancakes

  1. Randy says:

    What a taste surprise. These pancakes make all others dull by comparison…

  2. diamond says:

    Really sounds good. I will have to try it.

  3. Connie says:

    Breakfast for dinner sounds great. I’m sure they were delicious.

  4. Pingback: “This sandwich was so good…” | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

