Light, refreshing Thai Noodle Salad

DSC03067d

When I sat down to post this recipe I noticed that it had been a month since my last posting.  At the end of that post, I mentioned that my next recipe would be a dessert.  And, I actually made that recipe and it was good, but after making the Thai noodle salad, I wanted to share it first.  This recipe also came from Southern Living-The Slim Down South Cookbook by Carolyn O’Neil, MS, RD.

I love this dish!  I have already prepared this dish for Randy and me and again for an informal get-together at a friend’s home.  Everyone who tasted the salad loved the wonderful combination of flavors and heat from the jalapeños.

Add to that, that the salad is so incredibly easy to make, it has taken its place in my recipe collection and will be prepared many more times over the hot, sultry summer days.  The only ingredient I had a little difficulty finding was the fish sauce.  I shopped several times and could not find it at my local market event though I looked in the ethnic foods aisle.  Yes, I know, I could have substituted the soy sauce but I always prefer to try a new recipe with the original ingredients even if it means searching far and wide and going back several times to the market.  Eventually, I was able to purchase a bottle at my local supermarket.

Thai Noodle Salad

1(8-oz.) package vermicelli

1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and chopped

¼ cup fresh lime juice

1 Tbsp. fish sauce*

1 Tbsp. honey

1 1/2 tsp. sesame oil

1/4 tsp. table salt

2 carrots, grated

1 cucumber, peeled, seeded, and thinly sliced

1 cup finely shredded cabbage

¼ cup chopped fresh mint

¼ cup chopped dry-roasted peanuts

  1. Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain, rinse, and place in a large bowl; set aside.
  2. Process cilantro and next 7 ingredients in a food processor until smooth, stopping to scrape down sides.
  3. Toss together pasta, cilantro dressing, carrots, and next 3 ingredients. Divide salad mixture evenly among 4 pasta plates. Sprinkle each salad with 1 Tbsp. peanuts, and serve immediately.*Soy sauce may be substituted for fish sauce.

Serving size – 1 salad—CALORIES 326; FAT 7.3g (sat 1.1g, mono 2g, poly 2.2g); PROTEIN 11.3g; CARB 56.4g; FIBER 4.6g; CHOL 0mg; IRON 2.5mg; SODIUM 534mg; CALC 52mg.

I used the fish sauce each time I made the salad; however, the next time I will use the soy sauce just to see what, if any, difference it makes to the overall taste of the dish.

On a personal note, I would like to say thank you to my regular readers, and new readers, for checking in once in a while in my absence to see if I had posted a new recipe or traveled somewhere wonderful.  I have not posted recently because, quite frankly, I am in turmoil over a distant loved one and have had a great deal of difficulty focusing on my own world.

While the problem still exists, I have finally realized that I am not in control and have stepped away in hopes the situation will resolve, hopefully sometime in the near future.  Until then I am back in the kitchen experimenting with new recipes and preparing for a wonderful vacation across the oceans blue.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Cookbook, Food, international cuisine, pasta, vermicelli and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Light, refreshing Thai Noodle Salad

  1. Emily Harvill says:

    Do enjoy your recipes and keeping in touch. Hopefully, your turmoil with your loved one will be resolved in a positive manner, Thanks for all you do. Emily Harvill

  2. Randy says:

    This is one delicious summertime meal.

  3. Ron B says:

    Sounds great; definitely will try it. One suggestion; if you substitute soy sauce for the fishsauce, let us know how it turns out. Fishsauce has about 1400mg of sodium per tablespoon. Regular Soy Sauce has about 975mg per tablespoon while Lite Soy Sauce has 575mg per tablespoon. Depends on the individual taste as to whether you want to add or subtract table salt. My Vietnamese neighbor tells me the best Vietnamese fishsauce is Five Crabs Brand.

  4. Genny says:

    Hey Mary–it’s been forever since I last saw you! On the loved one situation, let go, let God. As for the recipe, since we like Thai food anyway, it sounds wonderful and anxious to try it. If you could find a Far East grocery store (probably in the Orlando area–if you ever get down that way), I’m certain you could find the fish sauce there. I, too, would like to know if the substitute soy sauce works as well.

  5. Sue Helffrich says:

    Can’t wait to try it.

  6. Pingback: “This sandwich was so good…” | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

