A dreamy day at sea

DSC04378

The sky was dark when I stepped out onto the balcony but, before long I was treated to a beautiful sunrise.

I watched as the sun made its way high into the sky and thought: What a beautiful way to start a wonderful day of pampering at the spa.    I was on my way to the spa for a manicure, pedicure and haircut.  I came out of the spa feeling pampered and lovely.

On my way back to the cabin, I stopped at Starbucks to pick up a Chai latte and almond croissant for breakfast.  Randy and I sat on the balcony talking about our plans for the day.

As we sat on their looking out at the water, the winds picked up, the seas became rougher and large rain clouds filled the sky.  We looked at each other and said, “This is not going to be a good pool day”.  But, no matter, on any given day there are many opportunities to see, hear or participate in fun activities around the ship.

IMG_8841b

IMG_8853bWe decided to go to the DreamWorks parade on the Promenade, the comedy water show at the Aqua Theater and see which DreamWorks character would be at the ‘surprise moment’ after dinner.

IMG_8831

IMG_8827

After lunch, we made our way down to the Promenade just in time to watch the parade.  I love watching the parade with its colorful costumes, upbeat music, DreamWorks characters and the crew who march, dance, and ride round and round the Promenade bringing smiles to the faces of young and old alike.

IMG_8799

We spent some time during the afternoon on the balcony enjoying the view of the many islands we passed as we made our way through the Strait of Bonifacio.  The strait separates Corsica and Sardinia in the Mediterranean Sea.

IMG_8796b

My favorite site was the Iles de LaVezzi.  I loved the look of this island.  The rock formations kept me mesmerized until the island finally disappeared from view.

DSC04426

DSC04427The day passed by quickly and all of a sudden it was time to get ready for the evening.  There was a meeting called for the consecutive cruisers.  We agreed that I would go to the meeting while Randy went down to the lounge.  While Randy was sitting and enjoying his drink, the DreamWorks Vikings came into the lounge delighting everyone.  Everyone had a great time and posed for many pictures.

DSC04429

We had another great evening with Tom, Barbara, Doug, Sue, Rachel and Paul.  I decided that I would order something new for dinner this evening.  I enjoyed a great bowl of Roasted Peach Soup and Sirloin Sliders.  They were both delicious.

DSC04432

After dinner we made our way down to the Promenade to get an after dinner drink at the Globe and Atlas.  When we got there the Penguins from Madagascar were there for their ‘surprise moment’ with the passengers.  I love the Penguins and so, we stopped for a photo which made me very happy.

We came back to the cabin and settled in for the night.  As I closed my eyes my head filled with wonderful memories of a delightful day of pampering and ‘dreamy’ characters.

Tomorrow we are back in Barcelona.

Enjoy,

Mary

 

This entry was posted in cruising, Food, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A dreamy day at sea

  1. Wish I was there. . It is another gloomy and rainy day here. 50 degrees.

  2. Randy says:

    Another nice day on the ship.

  3. Connie says:

    Like your little friends.

Leave a Reply

