Tea time at Erika’s Tea Room

DSC07363

Do you like teatime?  My friend Genny loves tea and is constantly combing the local newspaper for new and wonderful tea rooms for us to visit.

Our most recent ‘Ladies Day Out’ took us to Erika’s Tea Room & Gifts in Clermont. Erika’s has only been open since last August but seems to be doing very well as we watched  small groups of women come and go while enjoying our tea.

DSC07334

DSC07335

 

The walls of the front lobby of the restaurant are lined with shelves full of beautiful tea pots, cups and saucers and other little treasures.  There is another gift area beyond the dining area.

DSC07344

The tea room is small and intimate with soft colors on the wall, fringed tablecloths, lovely flower arrangement centerpieces, lighted sconces and pictures of flowers and landscapes covering the walls.

Genny, me, Maureen

Genny, me, Maureen

Genny, Maureen and I ordered the ‘The Lady of the Lake High Tea’.  This tea included milk chocolate and plum scones with Devonshire cream and preserves; small cucumber, egg salad, tuna salad and turkey sandwiches; a variety of desserts and tall pots of warm and flavorful tea.  The desserts included Chocolate Lava cupcakes, chocolate chip biscuits, pumpkin trifle and red velvet cake with a decadently delicious whipped topping.

DSC07347

The variety of teas to choose from was expansive.  There were green, black, white, oolong, dessert, herbal and seasonal teas. Genny chose the Mango, Maureen chose the Peach Apricot and I ordered the White Winter Chai.  Unfortunately, the tea I ordered was seasonal and was no longer available.  I ordered one of my very favorite flavors, Jasmine. At one point we taste each other’s tea.  While each choice was delicious, we all agreed that Maureen’s Peach Apricot was the best.  Before leaving Erika’s, Genny purchased a container of the Peach Apricot to enjoy at home.

DSC07350

There is also a variety of smaller tea choices on the menu as well as soup of the day, salad, quiche of the day and a tray of 4 miniature desserts.  Many of the teas on the menu are for sale.

DSC07353

I really enjoyed the scones especially the plum scone.  I enjoyed the sandwiches although I did find that the tuna and egg salads were a little dry and needed a little more moisture (mayonnaise).  My favorite sandwiches were the cucumber and the turkey.  What I really loved about the sandwiches was the bread.  Each sandwich was served on a different variety of bread.  There was a white, a wheat, a marble rye and pumpernickel; all delicious.  I asked our server where the bread came from.  She said that the bread is baked especially for the restaurant at a local bakery.

By dessert time I was a bit full and only ate the pumpkin spice trifle.  I brought the rest home for Randy.

DSC07359

DSC07360After tea we spent a little time looking at all the beautiful tea pots and other lovely things.  I fell in love with and bought a beautiful tea pot, creamer and sugar bowl for my granddaughter Madalyn.

Having tea at Erika’s was a lovely way to spend a rainy afternoon with friends.  I look forward to having tea there again.

 

DSC07478bEnjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, restaurants, scones, tea, tea rooms and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tea time at Erika’s Tea Room

  1. Mary says:

    Sounds delicious and wonderful.

  2. Jane says:

    Looks like I missed a great tea… Another time

  3. Genny says:

    We’re a bunch of fine-looking women! And if it’s your birthday, the staff sings a different version of ‘Happy Birthday’ to you to the tune of ‘I’m a Little Teapot…” Amusing. It was a lovely tea, and looking forward to the next one.

  4. Dee Manin says:

    Very nice cute little place…love the combos,breads and desserts and scones sound interesting….y

  5. Jeanette says:

    The tea club would love this tea room and it accommodates 60 people. Perfectly bee you “tea” full!
    Jeanette

  6. Connie says:

    Very Neat!

  7. Barbara Spivey says:

    Hi Mary,
    I love Tea Rooms. There’s a great one in Stuart, Florida called Lady Ann’s Tea Room. Yummy!
    Barbara Spivey

  8. Linda says:

    Sounds wonderful! I love the whole experience of high tea. Food looks yummy and I love the tea set you bought!

Leave a Reply

