Last day of birthday cruise and heading home

IMG_0269b

I walked out onto the balcony this morning to a breathtaking sunrise and knew it was going to be a wonderful day.

DSC07658

Today was our last day of my birthday cruise and I was looking forward to kicking back, relaxing, talking with our new friends, walking around the ship and attending the farewell variety show after dinner.

DSC07923

DSC07922I love just walking around looking at all the artwork distributed around the ship.  I especially love seeing what artwork is to be seen down the elevator shafts bow and aft.  Between the elevators at the front of the ship are these beautiful jet airplanes with beautiful murals while at the back of the ship there are these, what seems like, oversized traffic signals.

DSC07847

My favorite piece of artwork on the Freedom is the swimmer seemingly suspended in air from the Promenade ceiling.  The artwork is called Down Under and was created by British artist/sculpture David Mach.  Every time I am on the Freedom I find myself mesmerized by this wonderful sculpture and decided I would share.

In the artist’s words, “This sculpture has evolved from my collage and sculptural works.  The diving figure is a response to looking at thousands of images from books and magazines every day in my studio.  She’s larger than life and, unusually, dives into your space from the ceiling, as if you’re standing at the bottom of a pool looking up”.

DSC07924

One other piece of artwork I particularly enjoyed this cruise was in the deck five stairway forward.  It is so large I had to stand down at the bottom of the stair to get a decent photo.  Each shadow box contained a shell.  The shells were different sizes, shapes, colors but all beautiful.  Unfortunately, I was preoccupied at the time and failed to get the artists credits.  I will get it next time I am on the ship.  The shells in this piece are just beautiful.

After walking for a while, Randy and I decided to take a walk on the Promenade and join in the fun of FreedomFest.  The FreedomFest is like a street fair with many tables set up with food, drink and things to sell.  There are also tables for demonstrating how to make towel animals, make the perfect drink and some entertainment.

DSC07915

Many of the ship’s officers were on hand to chat with passengers.  Randy ran into Captain Holmes and renewed their conversation about motorcycles.

The last day of each cruise Randy is anxious to buy several $10 tee shirts.  He had already picked out the two designs he wanted so we made our way to the sales table and bought them.

IMG_0319b

Now, since it was my birthday I decided I would buy a ‘Happy Birthday to me’ present.  From the first day on the ship, I had been eyeing a Michael Kors bag.  Now what you have to know about the happy birthday to me gift is that over the last 25 years they have all been different.  Once I bought myself an over-sized filled birthday cupcake, another time I bought a new doll for my doll collection, for several years I bought small angels to sit upon my bedroom shelf.   Price is never the issue, just what happens to suit my fancy at the time.

This time my fancy fell leaned towards a Michael Kors Hamilton Saffiano leather satchel.  I was so excited when I finally went into the shop and purchased the bag.  I love it, I love it, I love it.  I have never owned a bag that came with its own soft, satin storage bag.  How fun is that?

DSC07916b

A little after lunch a group of passengers were invited to see the unveiling of new cabins on Deck 12.  We toured the cabins, all of which were bright and shiny and all have panoramic windows.  A nice touch I thought.  However, the cabin I like most was the family cabin.  As soon as you entered there was a space for bunk beds for the children and a separate bathroom for the children.

DSC07919

DSC07917bAs you went further into the cabin there was a spacious area that included a bedroom, sitting room, desk with storage and another bathroom.  What was really cool was in the center of the larger space was a wall unit that contained a flat screen TV that could be swung either towards the sitting area or the bedroom area.  The storage in this room was plentiful too.

Purchases complete, tour finished, we spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing in our cabin and packing for our departure the next day.

DSC07926

The time passed quickly and it was time to prepare for dinner.  We made our way up to the Diamond Lounge and had a great conversation with Bev, Jan, Don and Kathy and agreed to meet back at the lounge after dinner to say our goodbyes.

DSC07932b

We attended the late Farewell Showtime, which is always fun.  The farewell show included a performance by comedian Billy Garan, an aerial performance by Peter and Ildiko, the Royal Caribbean singers and dancers and members of the ship’s crew.

DSC07934

DSC07929

This was the first time we had seen Bill Garan and frankly, I was not that impressed.  However, the performance by Peter and Ildiko was phenomenal flying high above our heads.  The physical strength of these two people was nothing short of amazing.  It was a lovely, lovely show.

By the time the show was over Randy and I were ready to return to the cabin.  We had last minute packing to do and wanted to turn in and get a good night’s sleep.

High seas, howling winds, closed port, sunny days, meeting new friends, great Caribbean food, tequila tasting all made for a memorable birthday cruise.  Now, it was time to be home and plan our next adventure.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in cruising, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Last day of birthday cruise and heading home

  1. Randy says:

    An end to a great cruise…..

  2. Judy says:

    I’d say your Birthday cruise was a success!

  3. Connie says:

    Thanks for sharing. It is always fun to read about your adventures.

  4. Tina says:

    Happy Birthday Mary. GREAT birthday gift to yourself!

  5. JudyD says:

    Interesting about the new family staterooms. That is something that has been needed for a long time. And, I know your had a Happy Birthday.

    • Judy–The other new cabins we saw were, I thought, rather small and a bit stark. But I really did love the family room. Thanks for stopping by and leaving some words. Keep reading, Mary

  6. Connie says:

    Your birthday gift this year is beautiful. Glad to hear you treat yourself so good!! Happy Birthday. Sounds like a wonderful cruise. Connie and Ron

Leave a Reply

