Songs that have touched my life

Music is forever; music should grow and mature with you, following you right on up until you die. ~Paul Simon

From as far back as I can remember I have loved a wide range of music.  I remember as a child, I listening to big band music and watching American Band Stand to hear the newest sounds of the Rock and Roll era.

During a very low point in my relationship with my mom an aunt took me in and introduced me to a wide range of music genres including country, classical, jazz, Broadway hits and a great collection of John Philip Sousa marches.

This lovely woman passed away before my senior year in high school.  Upon graduation I moved away from home and one of the first things I did was go to a local record shop and order all the albums I could remember from my aunt’s collection.  Somewhere in my heart I believed it would help me keep her memory alive.

And, while I love an array of music genres and artists, there are three songs that have become special in my life.

Jump

“I get up, and nothing gets me down.

You got it tough.  I’ve seen the toughest around.

And Iknow, baby, just how you feel.

You’ve got to roll with the punches and get to what’s real

Might as well jump.  Jump!

Go ahead, jump.  Jump!

My childhood was chaotic; my young adulthood was a learning curve that presented many ups and downs and, I was struggling to understand how to be a good wife, homemaker and mother for a long time without the slightest idea on how to accomplish these roles especially as I did not have good role models growing up.

As the years rolled on I realized that I had to become comfortable in my own skin and needed to establish my own path.  Just about the time I came to this realization, the voice of Van Halen’s lead singer David Lee Roth exploded from the radio into my kitchen singing, Jump.  I remember listening to the words and as they took hold on my consciousness I started jumping, throwing my hands high above my head and yelling, “Yes”.

From that point on I knew that I had to shake off the past, move on and grow.  To this day if I hear “Jump” I can be seen dancing and singing around my home.

I Do (Cherish You)

“In my world before you, I lived outside my emotions

Didn’t know where I was going, ‘til that day I found you

How you opened my life to a new paradise

In a world torn by change, still with all my heart, ‘til my dying day”

Unfortunately, this growing process brought about a time of sadness to me and my family.  The stresses and strains caused by my past and the struggles to overcome differences between my husband and I, my marriage ended.

This separation from the past was hard on everyone but the family was very supportive of both myself and my husband as we worked toward living apart.

Over time and after going through the grieving that accompanies the loss of a marriage, I moved on and found myself connecting to others experiencing similar life changes.  I began by joining several support groups eventually meeting the man I knew would be my soul mate for the rest of my life.  This wonderful man was patient, kind, and made every effort to support my need for a relationship built on trust and respect.

One of the things I love about Randy is his use of words.  We were riding through the mountains one beautiful Sunday afternoon and as he looked out across the green clad mountains he said, “Everything looks so lush”.  I could not remember a time when I heard a man use the word lush.  I loved it.

Then one day, about four years into our relationship, Randy placed his hands on my face, looked me in the eyes and said, “Mary, I cherish you”.  Cherish!  So many people in my life used and over used the word love that I had become somewhat jaded by the use of the word.  But here was someone saying he cherished me.  Oh, my, I just melted.

When it came time to plan our wedding the only song that would do was “I Do (Cherish You) by Mark Wills.  This song said it all.

On Eagle’s Wings

You who dwell in the shelter of the Lord,

Who abide in His shadow for life,

Say to the Lord, “My Refuge,

My Rock in Whom I trust.”

And He will raise you up on eagle’s wings,

Bear you on the breath of dawn,

Make you to shine like the sun,

And hold you in the palm of His Hand.

Time has passed and my life has continued to be so very, very good.  I have arrived at that point in life when you begin to think about the afterlife.  One sunny, Florida Sunday, we were in church and the choir started to sing On Eagle’s Wings by Michael Joncas.  I had never heard this song before.  I heard the choir sing and felt instantly  that after making so many mistakes in my life that I would be forgiven my sins, be sheltered in God’s arms and reside for eternity in heaven.

Hope for redemption and everlasting life in heaven gives me a comfort that takes all the fear out of my eventual journey towards the afterlife.

There are many more songs that have touched my life but these three carry a very special meaning.

Mary

Writing 101:Day 3- Commit to a Writing Practice-Songs

This entry was posted in music, Writing project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Songs that have touched my life

  1. Randy says:

    Very touching and thought provoking. You write from the soul!!!!

  2. helffrich says:

    Beautiful. I recently heard “On Eagles Wings” for the first time in church also. What a beautiful song.

  3. Lana Halpern says:

    Very beautiful and profound. Have a great trip.

  4. Barbara Spivey says:

    Hi Mary,
    I enjoy your blogs. This one really touched my heart. Yes, it is indeed wonderful to serve a God who forgives us of all of our sins. Have a blessed weekend.
    Your friend,
    Barbara

  5. Ellen McCort says:

    Mary as I read your words this morning they have so totally touched my heart.

    We really need some alone time to compare stories our lives are so parallel. Down to the love of our lives.

    You & Randy I realize have a love for me that is rare. I love you both. I thank you for loving me in return

    As for On Eagles Wings. I have loved that song since Melissa sang it in high school church choir. Can’t hear it without tears.

    Ellen

  6. Judy mcGrath says:

    God is always holding you and me in His palm, Mary. Isn’t wonderful once we realize that. You certainly shine like the sun.

  7. Carole Revelle says:

    Profound, thought provoking and touching. You have given all of us thoughts to ponder on for ourselves. Thank you so much for sharing.

  8. Bob and Sandy says:

    We are all so lucky to be happy and content in this period of our lives and know that the “other” times are behind us. With God’s continuing help, we will ourselves continue to go forward and sing our favorite songs at the top of our voices.

  9. That is beautiful Mary. I am very touched by it.

  10. Dee Manin says:

    Very beautiful Mary

  11. Pingback: Five years and counting for the Delicious Divas blog | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

