A note found along a path

What a glorious day.  The sun is high in the sky, there is a gentle breeze blowing and I decided it just the perfect day to take a walk through our community Conservation Trail.

As I often do, I was admiring the backyards of my neighbors, the trees, shrubs and flowers along the path when I came upon a folded piece of paper.  The paper is a beautiful color of rose with scalloped edges and begs to be picked up.  Curious, I picked it up and thought: It is too pretty to be something that someone discarded. I wonder what it says.  I wonder if there is a name inside so I can return it.

I stop and read the contents of this note and was instantly taken aback.  It is a note from a mother to her daughter expressing such sorrow I begin to weep.  The note read:

“Dear, sweet daughter,

I am so sorry you are going through such a terrible time.  So many weighty problems have plagued you these last few years it is no wonder you have sunken into a quagmire of despair.  I have tried many times to reach out to you in hopes that together we could work towards making your life meaningful again but to no avail.  You have refused my help and the help of others and now find yourself alone and unable to fight your way back to sanity.  At some point when you have a moment of clarity of mind, please reach out and I will be at your side.  I miss you, I miss your smile, I miss your laughter, and I desperately miss you, my sweet girl”. 

The note ended there.  I could see tear stains on the paper.  I found myself crying even harder leaving my own tears stains on this beautiful piece of note paper.  There was no name, no signature so, alas, I could not return it to the author.  I put it back where I found it in hopes the author would realize that she had dropped it and would return to find it.

Mary

Writing 101–Day Five: Be Brief

This entry was posted in Writing project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A note found along a path

  1. microyogi says:

    Well written. I could imagine how painful this situation was for the mother. It was obvious she was at her wits end not being able to help.

  2. Randy says:

    Beautifully written and very appropriate.

  3. helffrich says:

    Beautifully, and beautifully written. I feel the pain.

  4. Genny says:

    Maybe it’s the female in us, but I got teary-eyed and goose bumps. As mothers, we have likely all been there, so this story goes to the hearts of the compassionate and caring.

  5. Bob and Sandy says:

    Oh dear, I am instantly weepy and will pray for that Mother and daughter to find their way back to each other.

  6. Ellen says:

    As you began your walk, I immediately was wondering what section of the trail you found it on. I know it couldn’t have been behind my home as I didn’t write that and if I had you would have known about it.

    I can not help but wonder if it was a message to you from God. It was given to you at the most important time, it didn’t mention a name or anyway for you to find the author and maybe that was the lesson you were learning that you are never alone as you walk this walk we call “life.” It was nice for you to return it as maybe it will also help someone else who is having a hard time.

    Hugs
    ellen

  7. Barbara Spivey says:

    This is great. My second time reading it. Loved it.
    Barbara

  8. mariaholm says:

    A short and exciting post. Thank you

  9. Pingback: End of summer cruise to the Caribbean on the Freedom of the Seas | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

