To Whom It May Concern

My dear, sweet friends,

As you know, I have been involved in a writing project.  Each day the participants in the writing project are given a topic and a prompt to use as inspiration.  On day fourteen we were to write a letter using a specific word. The prompt: “Pick the nearest book and flip to page 29.  What’s the first word that jumps off the page?  Use this word as your springboard to inspiration”.

After reading the prompt I turned from my computer screen and reached for the first book lying on my desk.  The book I now held in my hand was a book I recently purchased entitled The Woman’s Book of Confidence by Sue Patton Thoele. The book is filled with wonderful meditations for strength and inspiration.

It has been on my desk for a while now and until this prompt came up I had not opened it.  I did as suggested and opened it to page 29 and the first word that jumped off the page was solace.

I read the entire meditation entitled Finding a Hand Up When We Bottom Out and realized just how appropriate this particular meditation was for me.

The message of the day’s meditation was to have the courage to reach out for help in times of crises rather than suffer in isolation.  I was taken aback as I read because this reading had so much meaning not only for me but a loved one who, at this point in her life, has fallen into the pit of mental illness.

When I first learned of her plight, I found myself inconsolable, crying at every thought of her or mention of her name; I was lost.

Days went by and slowly I found myself reaching out and talking to you, my wonderful and dear friends.  I was not looking for answers or solutions and none were offered.  Instead you all listened with open minds and hearts offering me instead solace and support.    I am eternally grateful for your caring kindness.

I continue to be sad but am comforted knowing that I have so many people in my life that care for me and are willing to listen to me, hug me when I need it, and keep me in their prayers.

With so many prayers I know that I will have the strength to do whatever is necessary to help bring my loved one back to mental health.

I must finish now as I can no longer see the screen for the tears that are streaming down my face.  But know, that I hold you all, my dear friends, in my heart.

Love,

Mary

PS–A few days after absorbing this wonderful meditation, I sent a copy to my loved one in hopes that, she too, will read and heed its message.  I pray that she will gain the confidence to reach out for a hand up and take solace in the knowledge that she can count on the support of those who love her.

Writing 101: To Whom It May Concern

This entry was posted in Writing project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to To Whom It May Concern

  1. Ellen says:

    thanks for sharing this, you know many of us just want to be there when you need someone to listen.

  2. Randy says:

    Nice………………..

  3. Lana Halpern says:

    As I read your Delicious Diva Blog, I realize that you have so many wonderful layers that I hardly know. We have shared a few of them on our trips together. Family is so important to us and
    yet at times we are all so helpless. I am always here for you no mater how far away. Hugs and Misses,

    • Thank you, Lana, I know that I can always count on you for love and support. I miss you too. We will be up that in June. Madalyn is graduating from high school this year. We are coming up for the event. Perhaps we can get together for lunch or dinner one day. I will send you our schedule when we return from Europe. Mary

  4. Connie says:

    Hugs Mary…

  5. Bob and Sandy says:

    Our ears and hearts are always open.

  6. Genny says:

    Everyone comes into your life for a reason. Sometimes it’s for sharing; sometimes for caring; sometimes for laughter; sometimes for sadness. You know I’m just across the street from you for all of the above. You are not alone.

  7. oneta hayes says:

    deliciousdivas, I just received you comment on my “Flip Flopping on Flip Flops.” Thanks for the comment. I haven’t learned all the ins and outs about how to say thanks and where to do it, so I hopped over here and browsed a bit. Wonderful advice and inspiration about solace. Hope your friend received strength from it. Glad you like my “flip flop.” It was to much fun to leave out of sight. I’m guessing by your long list of categories, that you are experimenters in food and probably trend setters in fashion. Hope to see you more.

    • Hello Oneta, Thanks for stopping by. I started this blog with my daughter preparing recipes and then sharing them with readers. Eventually, the blog evolved into talking about food, restaurants I have visited and travel across the US and overseas. It has been a lot of fun. I really enjoyed the writing challenge. It gave me an interesting outlet for topics previously not covered. I will look forward to you stopping by again. I will be away for a bit on travel but once I return I will talk about my travels and then be back in the kitchen. Keep reading, Mary

Leave a Reply

